|  Share | Cite

Siemens Westinghouse Competition in Math, Science, and Technology

The Siemens Westinghouse Competition began in 1998 to recognize America's outstanding math, science, and technology students. The individual winner receives a $100,000 scholarship and the winning team shares a $100,000 scholarship.

Individual Winners

2007–2008: Wen Chyan, Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science, Denton, Texas: "Versatile Antimicrobial Coatings from Pulse Plasma Deposited Hydrogels and Hydrogel Composites."

2006–2007: Dmitry Vaintrob, South Eugene High School, Eugene, Oregon: “The string topology BV algebra, Hochschild cohomology and the Goldman bracket on surfaces.”

2005–2006: Michael Viscardi, home schooled, San Diego California: “On the Solution of the Dirichlet Problem with Rational Boundary Data.”

2004–2005: Aaron Goldin, San Dieguito High School Academy, Encinitas, Calif: “Autonomous Gryscopic Ocean-Wave Powered Generator: Invention of a New Energy Conversion Technology.”

2003–2004: Yin Li, Stuyvesant High School, New York, N.Y.: “Characterizing the Properties of a Translational Regulator Expressed in Mouse Brain”

2002–2003: Steven J. Byrnes, Roxbury Latin School, Lexington, Mass.: “Poset-Game Periodicity.”

2001–2002: Ryan Patterson, Central High School, Grand Junction, Colo.: “The Sign Language Translator.”

2000–2001: Mariangela Lisanti, Staples High School, Westport, Conn.: “Conductance Quantization in Au Nanocontacts.”

1999–2000: Lisa Harris, Dalton School, New York, N.Y.: “A Novel Assay for Detection of Four Common Cystic Fibrosis Mutations.”

Team Winners

2007–2008: Sajith M. Wickramasekara, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, North Carolina and Andrew Y. Guo, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, North Carolina: "A Functional Genomic Framework for Chemotherapeutic Drug Improvement and Identification."

2006–2007: Scott Molony, Steven Arcangeli and Scott Horton, Oak Ridge High School, Oak Ridge, Tennessee: "Linking Supercomputing and Systems Biology for Efficient Bioethanol Production."

2005–2006: Anna Lee, Phoenix Country Day School, Paradise Valley, Ariz. and Albert Shieh, Chaparral High School, Scottsdale, Ariz.: “SNiPer: Improved SNP Genotype Calling for Affymetrix 10K GeneChip Microarray Data.”

2004–2005: (Lucie) Yueqi Guo and Xianlin Li, The North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, N.C.: “CpG island methylation of GADD45 α is marker of breast carcinogenesis”

2003–2004: Mark Schneider and Jeffrey Schneider, South Windsor High School, South Windsor, Conn.: “Simulation of the West Nile Virus using STELLA 7.02.”

2002–2003: Juliet R. Girard and Roshan D. Prabhu, William L. Dickinson High School, Jersey City, N.J.: “Identification and High Resolution Mapping of Flowering Time Genes in Rice.”

2001–2002: Shira Billet and Dora Sosnowik, Stella K. Abraham High School for Girls, Hewlett Bay Park, N.Y.: “A Viscometer for Ultra Thin Films.”

2000–2001: Charles Olbert, Christopher Clearfield, and Nikolas Williams, The North Carolina School of Science and Math, Durham, N.C.: “Discovery of a Pulsar Bow-Shock Nebula in a Nearby Supernova Remnant.”

1999–2000: Daniar Hussain and Steven Malliaris, New Trier High School, Winnetka, Ill.: “Breakthrough data storage and retrieval program,”

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Intel Science Talent Search Winners Science and Other Awards The Nation's Highest Science and Technology Honors

More on Siemens Westinghouse Competition in Math Science and Technology from Infoplease:

  • Science and Inventions - Get info on cloning, chemical elements, geological periods, science milestones, a timeline of famous inventions, and more.