| Share

U.S. Direct Investment in Other Countries, 2002

(in millions of dollars)

All countries, all industries$108,950
By country 
Canada 17,329
Europe 67,650
 Austria 315
 Belgium 3,523
 Denmark 2,334
 Finland 61
 France 3,633
 Germany –2,526
 Greece 143
 Italy 1,764
 Luxembourg 4,933
 Netherlands 18,368
 Norway 896
 Portugal –30
 Spain 1,045
 Sweden 2,120
 Switzerland 7,718
 Turkey 97
 United Kingdom18,572
 Other 1,228
Latin America and
 other Western Hemisphere
 South America–1,381
  Argentina –754
  Chile –1,063
  Colombia 317
  Ecuador 506
  Peru 167
  Venezuela 64
  Other –227
 Central America4,892
  Costa Rica–6
  Guatemala –72
  Honduras 12
  Mexico 3,632
  Panama 794
  Other 533
 Other Western Hemisphere–24
  Bahamas –542
  Barbados –243
  Bermuda 457
  Dominican Republic 123
  Jamaica 356
  Netherlands Antilles61
  Trinidad and Tobago306
  U.K. Islands, Caribbean$–520
  Other –23
Africa 1,251
 Egypt 297
 Nigeria 46
 South Africa 136
 Other 772
Middle East618
 Israel 19
 Saudi Arabia25
 United Arab Emirates 69
 Other 505
Asia and Pacific18,403
 Australia 2,039
 China 121
 Hong Kong 1,822
 India 845
 Indonesia 645
 Japan 5,557
 Korea, Republic of 1,306
 Malaysia 1,299
 New Zealand –301
 Thailand 1,702
 Other 124
 Eastern Europe21,145
 European Union (15)357,712
By industry 
 Petroleum 9,582
 Food and kindred products 12,467
 Chemicals and allied products 13,024
 Primary and fabricated metals –886
 Industrial machinery and equipment –2,357
  Electronic and other electric equipment1,624
 Transportation equipment –765
 Other manufacturing 2,516
 Wholesale trade 11,880
 Depository institutions–711
 Finance (except depository institutions),
  insurance and real estate
 Services 9,368
 Other industries 6,149
1. “International” consists of affiliates that have operations spanning more than one country and that are engaged in petroleum shipping, other water transportation, or offshore oil and gas drilling.
2. “Eastern Europe” comprises Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.
3. The European Union (12) comprises Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, and the United Kingdom. The European Union (15) comprises the European Union (12) and the three countries—Austria, Finland, and Sweden—that joined the Union in 1995.
4. Beginning with 1995, OPEC (Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries) comprises Algeria, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela. Prior to 1995, Gabon was also a member.
Source: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis. Web: www.bea.doc.gov/bea/di/usdiacap.prn .

Information Please® Database, © 2012 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Balance of International PaymentsU.S. Economy and the Federal BudgetChristmas Price Index, 2005-6

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring