Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism

The award is administered for the Truman Capote estate by the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop. The $50,000 award is the largest cash prize for literary criticism in the English language.

1996  Helen Vendler, The Given and the Made
1997  John Felstiner, Paul Celan: Poet, Survivor, Jew
1998  John Kerrigan, Revenge Tragedy
1999  Charles Rosen, Romantic Poets, Critics, and Other Madmen
2000  Elaine Scarry, Dreaming by the Book; Philip Fisher, Still the New World
2001  Malcolm Bowie, Proust Among the Stars
2002  Declan Kiberd, Irish Classics
2003  Seamus Heaney, Finders Keepers: Selected Prose 1971–2001
2004  Susan Stewart, Poetry and the Fate of the Senses
2005  Angus Fletcher, A New Theory for American Poetry: Democracy, the Environment, and the Future of Imagination
2006  Geoffrey Hartman, The Geoffrey Hartman Reader
2007  William H. Gass, A Temple of Texts
2008  Helen Small, The Long Life

PEN Literary Award Winners Book, Magazine, Newspaper Awards Kingsley Tufts Poetry Prize