| Share

2001–2002 Obie Awards

The 2001–2002 Obie Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, were presented on May 20, 2002, at New York's Webster Hall.

Playwriting: Melissa James Gibson, (sic);
Tony Kushner, Homebody/Kabul
Direction: George C. Wolfe, Topdog/Underdog;
Mary Zimmerman, Metamorphoses
Performance: Bill Camp, Homebody/Kabul;
Reg E. Cathey, James Himelsbach, Karen Kandel, Anthony Mackie, John Seitz, Maria Tucci (ensemble), Talk;
Christopher Donahue, Monster;
Linda Emond, Homebody/Kabul;
Raul Esparza, Tick, Tick…Boom!;
Juliana Francis, Maria del Bosco;
Peter Frechette and Reg Rogers, The Dazzle;
Yvette Ganier, Breath, Boom;
Martha Plimpton, Hobson's Choice;
Jeffrey Wright, Topdog/Underdog
Design: Kevin Adams, sustained excellence of lighting design;
Marilys Ernst, video for Talk;
Angela Moore and Michael Schmelling, set and lighting design of Drummer Wanted;
Whit MacLaughlin, sound design for The Fab 4 Reach the Pearly Gates
Special Citations: A.R.T./NY for support of Off-Broadway theater;
Daniel Aukin and Louisa Thompson, direction and set design, (sic);
Ingmar Bergman and the Royal Dramatic Theatre of Sweden, The Ghost Sonata;
Daniel MacIvor, In on It;
Charles L. Mee and Les Waters, playwriting and direction, Big Love;
Elaine Stritch, Elaine Stritch at Liberty;
The Wooster Group; To You, the Birdie!
Sustained Achievement: Caryl Churchill

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

2002–2003 Obie AwardsObie Awards2000–2001 Obie Awards

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring