|  Share | Cite

Nobel Prize for Economic Science

Find all the winners of the Nobel Prize for Economic Science, from 1969 to the present. For years not listed, no award was made.

Ragnar Frisch (Norway) and Jan Tinbergen (Netherlands), for work in econometrics (application of mathematics and statistical methods to economic theories and problems)
Paul A. Samuelson (U.S.), for efforts to raise the level of scientific analysis in economic theory
Simon Kuznets (U.S.), for developing concept of using a country's gross national product to determine its economic growth
Kenneth J. Arrow (U.S.) and Sir John R. Hicks (U.K.), for theories that help to assess business risk and government economic and welfare policies
Wassily Leontief (U.S.), for devising the input-output technique to determine how different sectors of an economy interact
Gunnar Myrdal (Sweden) and Friedrich A. von Hayek (U.K.), for pioneering analysis of the interdependence of economic, social, and institutional phenomena
Leonid V. Kantorovich (U.S.S.R.) and Tjalling C. Koopmans (U.S.), for work on the theory of optimum allocation of resources
Milton Friedman (U.S.), for work in consumption analysis and monetary history and theory, and for demonstration of complexity of stabilization policy
Bertil Ohlin (Sweden) and James E. Meade (U.K.), for contributions to theory of international trade and international capital movements
Herbert A. Simon (U.S.), for research into the decision-making process within economic organizations
Sir Arthur Lewis (U.K.) and Theodore Schultz (U.S.), for work on economic problems of developing nations
Lawrence R. Klein (U.S.), for developing models for forecasting economic trends and shaping policies to deal with them
James Tobin (U.S.), for analyses of financial markets and their influence on spending and saving by families and businesses
George J. Stigler (U.S.), for work on government regulation in the economy and the functioning of industry
Gerard Debreu (U.S.), in recognition of his work on the basic economic problem of how prices operate to balance what producers supply with what buyers want
Sir Richard Stone (U.K.), for his work to develop the systems widely used to measure the performance of national economics
Franco Modigliani (U.S.), for his pioneering work in analyzing the behavior of household savers and the functioning of financial markets
James M. Buchanan (U.S.), for his development of new methods for analyzing economic and political decision-making
Robert M. Solow (U.S.), for seminal contributions to the theory of economic growth
Maurice Allais (France), for his pioneering development of theories to better understand market behavior and the efficient use of resources
Trygve Haavelmo (Norway), for his pioneering work in methods for testing economic theories
Harry M. Markowitz, William F. Sharpe, and Merton H. Miller (all U.S.), whose work provided new tools for weighing the risks and rewards of different investments and for valuing corporate stocks and bonds
Ronald Coase (U.S.), for his pioneering work in how property rights and the cost of doing business affect the economy
Gary S. Becker (U.S.), for “having extended the domain of economic theory to aspects of human behavior which had previously been dealt with—if at all—by other social science disciplines”
Robert W. Fogel and Douglass C. North (both U.S.), for their work in economic history
John F. Nash, John C. Harsanyi (both U.S.), and Reinhard Selten (Germany), for their pioneering work in game theory
Robert E. Lucas, Jr. (U.S.), for having had the greatest influence on macroeconomic research since 1970
James A. Mirrlees (U.K.) and William Vickrey (U.S.), for “their fundamental contributions to the economic theory of incentives”
Robert C. Merton and Myron S. Scholes (both U.S.), for developing a formula that determines the value of stock options and other derivatives
Amartya Sen (India), for his contributions to welfare economics
Robert A. Mundel (U.S.), for his work on monetary dynamics and optimum currency areas
James J. Heckman and Daniel L. McFadden (both U.S.), for developing methods used in statistical analysis of individual and household behavior
George A. Akerlof, A. Michael Spence, and Joseph E. Stiglitz (all U.S.), for market analyses with asymmetric information.
Daniel Kahneman (U.S.) for having integrated insights from psychological research into economic science and Vernon L. Smith (U.S.) for having established laboratory experiments as a tool in empirical economic analysis.
Robert F. Engle (U.S.) and Clive W. J. Granger (UK), for developing statistical tools to improve analysis of stock prices and other data.
Finn E. Kydland (Norway) and Edward C. Prescott (U.S.) “for their contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the time consistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles.”
Robert J. Aumann and Thomas C. Schelling (both U.S.)
Edmund S. Phelps (U.S.) for “his analysis of intertemporal tradeoffs in macroeconomic policy”
Leonid Hurwicz (U.S.), Eric S. Maskin (U.S.), and Roger B. Myerson (U.S.) "for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory"
Paul Krugman (U.S.) for "his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity"
Elinor Ostrom (U.S.) for "her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons" and Oliver E. Williamson (U.S.) for "his analysis of economic governance, especially the boundaries of the firm"
Peter Diamond (U.S.), Dale T. Mortensen (U.S.), and Christopher A. Pissarides (UK) for "their analysis of markets with search frictions"
Thomas J. Sargent (U.S.) and Christopher A. Sims for "their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy"
Jointly to Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley (both U.S.) for "the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design"

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Nobel Prize for Physiology or MedicineNobel Prizes

More on Nobel Prize for Economic Science from Infoplease:

  • Nobel Prize - Nobel Prize Nobel Prize, award given for outstanding achievement in physics, chemistry, physiology ...
  • Milton Friedman - Milton Friedman Age: 94 economist who championed free-market theory and advocated for less state ...
  • Slideshow: Women Nobel Prize Winners in Science - Find images and information about women Nobel Prize winners for science, including Marie Sklodowska Curie, Irene Curie, Gerty Radnitz Cori, and more.
  • Women Nobel Prize Winners - Women Nobel Prize Winners Marie Curie was not only the first woman to win a Nobel Prize, in 1903, ...