| Share

Cabinet Members Under Jackson

Secretary of State Martin Van Buren, 1829
Edward Livingston, 1831
Louis McLane, 1833
John Forsyth, 1834
Secretary of the Treasury Samuel D. Ingham, 1829
Louis McLane, 1831
William J. Duane, 1833
Roger B. Taney1, 1833
Levi Woodbury, 1834
Secretary of War John H. Eaton, 1829
Lewis Cass, 1831
Attorney General John M. Berrien, 1829
Roger B. Taney, 1831
Benjamin F. Butler, 1833
Postmaster General2 William T. Barry, 1829
Amos Kendall, 1835
Secretary of the Navy John Branch, 1829
Levi Woodbury, 1831
Mahlon Dickerson, 1834
1. Not confirmed by the Senate.
2. The postmaster general did not become a cabinet member until 1829. Earlier postmasters general were: Samuel Osgood (1789), Timothy Pickering (1791), Joseph Habersham (1795), Gideon Granger (1801), Return J. Meigs, Jr. (1814), and John McLean (1823).

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Cabinet Members Under J. Q. AdamsGovernment OfficialsCabinet Members Under Van Buren

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring