Marshall Islands

Flag of Marshall Islands
  1. Marshall Islands Main Page
  2. U.S. Nuclear Testing
  3. Signing the Compact of Free Association and United Nations Admission
  4. World's Largest Shark Sanctuary Declared
World's Largest Shark Sanctuary Declared

Over 772,000 square miles of ocean was declared a shark sanctuary by the government in Oct. 2011. The area became the largest shark sanctuary in the world. Fishing for sharks is banned.

On Jan. 3, 2012, the Nitijela, the 33-member legislature, elected Christopher Loeak president. Loeak defeated incumbent Jurelang Zedkaia by 21 to 11 votes.

In early Jan. 2016, the Nitijela elected Casten Nemra president. Nemra narrowly defeated seven-term Parliament member, Senator Alvin Jacklick by 17-16 votes. Nemra assumed office on Jan. 11. He became the youngest person to hold the office.

See also Encyclopedia: Marshall Islands .
U.S. State Dept. Country Notes: Marshall Islands
Office of Planning and Statistics .

1 2 3 4

Malta Countries Mauritania