Current U.S. Supreme Court Members

The following table lists the current members of the United States Supreme Court, including the Chief Justice and eight Associate Justices. Antonin Scalia died in February 2016, creating a vacancy among the Associate Justices that would be filled by Neil Gorsuch in 2017. The following year, after Justice Kennedy retired, his seat was filled by Brett Kavanaugh.

See Also: Past U.S. Supreme Court Members

Name, stateAssoc. JusticeChief JusticeYrsPlaceDateDiedReligion
Brett Kavanaugh, DC2018– D.C.1965Roman Catholic
Neil Gorsuch, CO2017– Co.1967Episcopalian
Clarence Thomas, DC1991– Ga.1948Roman Catholic
Ruth Bader Ginsburg, DC1993– N.Y.1933Jewish
Stephen G. Breyer, Mass.1994– Calif.1938Jewish
John G. Roberts, DC 2005–N.Y.1955Roman Catholic
Samuel A. Alito, Jr., N.J.2006– N.J.1950Roman Catholic
Sonia Sotomayor N.Y.2009– N.Y.1954Roman Catholic
Elena Kagan N.Y.2010– N.Y.1960Jewish

Mailing address for the Supreme Court:
U.S. Supreme Court Building, 1 First Street NE
Washington, DC 20543

NOTE: Bold=Chief Justice
*Served as both chief justice and associate justice.
1. Congregational; later Unitarian.
2. Unitarian; then Episcopal.
3. Unitarian or Congregational.
4. Not a member of any church.


 Supreme CourtPast U.S. Supreme Court Members