Major League Soccer Through the Years

Sanctioned by U.S. Soccer and FIFA, the international soccer federation. MLS was founded on the heels of the successful 1994 World Cup tournament hosted by the United States and it remains the only FIFA-sanctioned division I outdoor league in the United States. The annual MLS title game is known as the MLS Cup.

Multiple winner: D.C. United (3).


YearWinnerHead CoachScoreLoserHead CoachSite
1996D.C. UnitedBruce Arena3-2Los Angeles GalaxyLothar OsianderFoxboro, Mass.
1997D.C. UnitedBruce Arena2-1Colorado RapidsGlen MyernickWashington, D.C.
1998Chicago FireBob Bradley2-0D.C. UnitedBruce ArenaPasadena, Calif.
1999D.C. UnitedThomas Rongen2-0Los Angeles GalaxySigi SchmidFoxboro, Mass.
2000K.C. WizardsBob Gansler1-0Chicago FireBob BradleyWashington, D.C.
2001San Jose EarthquakesFrank Yallop2-1Los Angeles GalaxySigi SchmidColumbus, Ohio
2002Los Angeles GalaxySigi Schmid1-0 2OTN.E. RevolutionSteve NicolFoxboro, Mass.
2003San JoseFrank Yallop4-2ChicagoDave SarachanCarson, Calif.

MLS Cup '96

D.C. United, 3-2 (OT)

Oct. 20 at Foxboro Stadium, Foxboro, Mass.

Attendance: 34,643

Los Angeles Galaxy110-2
D.C. United021-3
First Half: LA-Eduardo Hurtado (Mauricio Cienfuegos), 5th minute.
Second Half: LA-Chris Armas (unassisted), 56th; DC-Tony Sanneh (Marco Etcheverry), 73rd; DC-Shawn Medved (unassisted), 82nd.
Overtime: DC-Eddie Pope (Etcheverry), 94th.
MVP: Marco Etcheverry, D.C. United, Midfielder

MLS Cup '97

D.C. United, 2-1

Oct. 26 at RFK Stadium, Washington, D.C.

Attendance: 57,431

Colorado Rapids01-1
D.C. United11-2
First Half: DC-Jaime Moreno (Tony Sanneh, David Vaudreuil), 37th minute.
Second Half: DC-Sanneh (John Harkes, Richie Williams), 68th; COL-Adrian Paz (David Patino, Matt Kmosko), 75th.
MVP: Jaime Moreno, D.C. United, Forward

MLS Cup '98

Chicago Fire, 2-0

Oct. 25 at the Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.

Attendance: 51,350

D.C. United00-0
First Half: CHI-Jerzy Podbrozny (Peter Nowak, Ante Razov), 29th minute; CHI-Diego Gutierrez (Nowak), 45th.
MVP: Nowak, Chicago, Midfielder

MLS Cup '99

D.C. United, 2-0

Nov. 21 at Foxboro Stadium, Foxboro, Mass.

Attendance: 44,910

D.C. United20-2
Los Angeles00-0
First Half: DC-Jaime Moreno (Roy Lassiter), 19th minute; DC-Ben Olsen (unassisted), 48th
MVP: Olsen, D.C. United, Midfielder

MLS Cup 2000

Kansas City Wizards, 1-0

Oct. 15 at RFK Stadium, Washington, D.C.

Attendance: 39,159

Kansas City10-1
First Half: DC- Miklos Molnar (Chris Klein), 11th minute.
MVP: Tony Meola, Kansas City, Goalkeeper

MLS Cup 2001

San Jose Earthquakes, 2-1

Oct. 21 at Crew Stadium, Columbus, Ohio

Attendance: 21,626

San Jose101-2
Los Angeles100-1
First Half: LA-Luis Hernandez (Greg Vanney, Kevin Hartman), 21st minute; SJ-Landon Donovan (Ian Russell, Richard Mulrooney), 43rd.
Overtime: SJ-Dwayne DeRosario (Ronnie Ekelund, Zak Ibsen), 96th.
MVP: Dwayne DeRosario, San Jose, Forward

MLS Cup 2002

Los Angeles Galaxy, 1-0 (2 OT)

Oct. 20 at Gillette Stadium, Foxboro, Mass.

Attendance: 61,316

Los Angeles0001-1
New England0000-0
First Half: LA-Luis Hernandez (Greg Vanney, Kevin Hartman), 21st minute; SJ-Landon Donovan (Ian Russell, Richard Mulrooney), 43rd.
2nd OT:LA-Carlos Ruiz, (Tyrone Marshall, Chris Albright), 113th minute.
MVP: Carlos Ruiz, Los Angeles, F

MLS Cup 2003

San Jose Earthquakes, 4-2

Nov. 23 at Home Depot Center, Carson, Calif.

Attendance: 27,000

San Jose22-4
First Half: SJ- Ronnie Ekelund (unassisted), 5th minute; SJLandon Donovan (Jamil Walker), 38th. Second Half: CHIDaMarcus Beasley (Andy Williams), 49th; SJ-Richard Mulrooney (Craig Waibel), 50th; CHI-own goal (Chris Roner), 54th; SJ-Donovan (Dwayne De Rosario, Brian Mullan), 71st.
MVP: Landon Donovan, San Jose, F

Regular Season

Most Valuable Player
1996Carlos Valderrama, Tampa Bay
1997Preki, Kansas City
1998Marco Etcheverry, D.C.
1999Jason Kreis, Dallas
2000Tony Meola, Kansas City
2001Alex Pineda Chacón, Miami
2002Carlos Ruiz, LA
2003Preki, Kansas City
Leading ScorerGAPts
1996Roy Lassiter, Tampa Bay27458
1997Preki, Kansas City121741
1998Stern John, Columbus26557
1999Jason Kreis, Dallas181551
2000Mamadou Diallo, Tampa Bay26456
2001Alex Pineda Chacón19947
2002Taylor Twellman, New England23652
2003Preki, Kansas City121741
2004Pat Noonan, New England11830
 & Amado Guevara, MetroStars101030


 OutdoorWomen's United Soccer Association