Final VISA 3-year-old Series Standings

The VISA Championship Series consists of 45 stakes races to determine the VISA 3-Year-Old Champion. Points are awarded to the first, second and third-place finishers as follows: Triple Crown races are scored 20-10-7; Grade I races are scored 10-7-5; Grade II races 7-5-3; and Grade III and ungraded 5-3-1. Top horses, jockeys and trainers are listed below.


3Cat Thief46
4Lemon Drop Kid38
5General Challenge29
 Yes It's True25
8Vision and Verse24
10Successful Appeal21
11Prime Timber19
12Ecton Park18
13Best of Luck17
14Desert Hero15
 Stellar Brush15
16Texas Glitter13


1Pat Day82
2Jerry Bailey61
3Chris Antley58
4Shane Sellers53
5Jose Santos43
6David Flores40
 Mike Smith40
8Gary Stevens 28
9Corey Nakatani25
10Alex Solis23
11Jorge Chavez18
12Herberto Castillo Jr.17
 Jean-Luc Samyn17
 John Velazquez17
15Chris McCarron 16
 Edgar Prado16
17Kent Desormeaux15
18Mike Luzzi12
 Michael McCarthy12


1D. Wayne Lukas134
2Bob Baffert89
3Elliott Walden73
4Scotty Schulhofer38
5Nick Zito30
6Carl Nafzger25
7Bill Mott24
8John Kimmel21
9H. Allen Jerkens17
10Shug McGaughey16

NTRA National Thoroughbred PollThoroughbred Racing1998-99 Money Leaders