Final VISA 3–year–old Series Standings

The VISA Championship Series consists of 44 stakes races to determine the VISA 3-Year-Old Champion. Points are awarded to the first, second and third-place finishers as follows: Triple Crown races are scored 15-10-7; Grade I races are scored 10-7-5; Grade II races 7-5-3; and Grade III and ungraded 5-3-1. Top 20 horses, jockeys and trainers are listed below.


1Victory Gallop66
2Real Quiet62
3Coronado's Quest51
4Classic Cat21
5Grand Slam20
6Lil's Lad19
7Cape Town 18
 Indian Charlie17
10Favorite Trick15
 Halory Hunter15
 Yarrow Brae15
13Dice Dancer13
 Souvenir Copy13
15Event of the Year12
 Old Trieste12
 Thomas Jo12
 Time Limit12
19Good and Tough11
 Hot Wells11
 Parade Ground11


1Kent Desormeaux72
2Gary Stevens71
3Jerry Bailey64
4Mike Smith47
5Pat Day40
6Shane Sellers38
7Chris McCarron36
8Alex Solis27
9Robbie Albarado20
10Willie Martinez17
11Jorge Chavez16
12Eibar Coa15
13Jean-Luc Samyn14
14David Flores13
 Corey Nakatani13
 Edgar Prado13
17Russell Baze12
 Richard Migliore12
19Julie Krone11
20Robbie Davis10


1Bob A. Baffert98
2D. Wayne Lukas71
3W. Elliott Walden 69
4Claude R. McGaughey, III51
5Neil J. Howard38
6David C. Cross Jr.21
 H. Allen Jerkens21
8William I. Mott18
9Frank A. Alexander17
 Randy K. Bradshaw17
 Jerry Hollendorfer17
12Flint S. Schulhofer15
 Nicholas P. Zito15
14Wallace A. Dollase13
15James A. Jerkens12
 John C. Kimmel12
 Mike Puype12
18Thomas Amoss11
19James E. Baker10
 Todd Pletcher10

NTRA National Thoroughbred PollThoroughbred Racing1997–98 Money Leaders