2001 Boston Marathon

The 105th edition of the Boston Marathon was held Monday, April 16, 2001 and run, as always, from Hopkinton through Ashland, Framingham, Natick, Wellesley, Newton and Brookline to Boston, Mass. For the first time since 1990, a runner from a country other than Kenya won as South Korean Lee Bong-Ju was the first to break the tape in 2:09:43. He was the first Korean to win Boston since 1950. Ecuador's Silvio Guerra was runner-up in 2:10:07 while the Kenyans grabbed the next three spots.

In the women's division, 2000 champ Catherine Ndereba of Kenya successfully defended her crown, winning by almost three minutes in 2:23:53. Ndereba surged in the Newton hills to open up a commanding lead over three-time winner Fatuma Roba and the rest of the field.

In the wheelchair race, Australian ace Louise Sauvage (1:53:54) won for the fourth time, edging Switzerland's Edith Hunkeler by just four seconds. South Africa's Ernst VanDyk (1:25:12) unseated Switzerland's Franz Nietlispach in the men's wheelchair division. Nietlispach had won four in a row. Winners in the men's and women's divisions earned $80,000.

Distance: 26.2 miles.


1Lee Bong-Ju, South Korea2:09:43
2Silvio Guerra, Ecuador2:10:07
3Joshua Chelang'a, Kenya2:10:29
4David Kiptum Busienei, Kenya2:11:47
5Mbarek Hussein, Kenya2:12:01
Best USA: 6th? Rod DeHaven, Wisconsin, 2:12:41


1Ernst VanDyk, South Africa1:25:12
2Franz Nietlispach, Switzerland1:31:22
3Heinz Frei, Switzerland1:31:58
4Saul Mendoza, Mexico1:32:05
5Krige Schabort, South Africa1:37:01


1Catherine Ndereba, Kenya2:23:53
2Malgorzata Sobanska, Poland2:26:42
3Lyubov Morgunova, Russia2:27:18
4Lornah Kiplagat, Kenya2:27:56
5Fatuma Roba, Ethiopia2:28:08
Best USA: 14th? Jill Gaitenby, Rhode Island, 2:36:45


1Louise Sauvage, Australia1:53:54
2Edith Hunkeler, Switzerland1:53:58
3Sandra Graf, Switzerland2:04:00
4Miriam Nibley, United States2:04:49
5Diane Roy, Canada2:26:22

MarathonsOther 2001 Winners
Sources +