World Champions

Officially called the World Championship of Drivers and based on Formula One (Grand Prix) records through the 2003 season. Note: With one race remaining in the 2004 season, Michael Schumacher had unofficially clinched the World Championship.

Multiple winners: Michael Schumacher (6); Juan-Manuel Fangio (5); Alain Prost (4); Jack Brabham, Niki Lauda, Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna and Jackie Stewart (3); Alberto Ascari, Jim Clark, Emerson Fittipaldi, Mika Hakkinen and Graham Hill (2).

Year DriverCountryCarStsWins PolesRunner(s)-up
1950 Guiseppe FarinaItalyAlfa Romeo732J.M. Fangio, ARG
1951 Juan-Manuel FangioArgentinaAlfa Romeo834A. Ascari, ITA
1952 Alberto AscariItalyFerrari865G. Farina, ITA
1953 Alberto AscariItalyFerrari956J.M. Fangio, ARG
1954 Juan-Manuel FangioArgentinaMaserati/Mercedes965F. Gonzalez, ARG
1955 Juan-Manuel FangioArgentinaMercedes743S. Moss, GBR
1956 Juan-Manuel FangioArgentinaLancia/Ferrari835S. Moss, GBR
1957 Juan-Manuel FangioArgentinaMaserati844S. Moss, GBR
1958 Mike HawthornGreat BritainFerrari1114S. Moss, GBR
1959 Jack BrabhamAustraliaCooper Climax921T. Brooks, GBR
1960 Jack BrabhamAustraliaCooper Climax1053B. McLaren, NZE
1961 Phil HillUnited StatesFerrari825W. von Trips, GER
1962 Graham HillGreat BritainBRM941J. Clark, GBR
1963 Jim ClarkGreat BritainLotus Climax1077G. Hill, GBR
& R. Ginther, USA
1964 John SurteesGreat BritainFerrari1022G. Hill, GBR
1965 Jim ClarkGreat BritainLotus Climax1066G. Hill, GBR
1966 Jack BrabhamAustraliaBrabham Repco943J. Surtees, GBR
1967 Denis HulmeNew ZealandBrabham Repco1120J. Brabham, AUS
1968 Graham HillGreat BritainLotus Ford1232J. Stewart, GBR
1969 Jackie Stewart Great BritainMatra Ford1162J. Ickx, BEL
1970 Jochen RindtAustriaLotus Ford1353J. Ickx, BEL
1971 Jackie StewartGreat BritainTyrrell Ford1166R. Peterson, SWE
1972 Emerson FittipaldiBrazilLotus Ford1253J. Stewart, GBR
1973 Jackie StewartGreat BritainTyrrell Ford1553E. Fittipaldi, BRA
1974 Emerson FittipaldiBrazilMcLaren Ford1532C. Regazzoni, SWI
1975 Niki LaudaAustriaFerrari1459E. Fittipaldi, BRA
1976 James HuntGreat BritainMcLaren Ford1668N. Lauda, AUT
1977 Niki LaudaAustriaFerrari1732J. Scheckter, RSA
1978 Mario AndrettiUnited StatesLotus Ford1668R. Peterson, SWE
1979 Jody ScheckterSouth AfricaFerrari1531G. Villeneuve, CAN
1980 Alan JonesAustraliaWilliams Ford1453N. Piquet, BRA
1981 Nelson PiquetBrazilBrabham Ford1534C. Reutemann, ARG
1982 Keke RosbergFinlandWilliams Ford1611D. Pironi, FRA
& J. Watson, GBR
1983 Nelson PiquetBrazilBrabham BMW Turbo1531A. Prost, FRA
1984 Niki LaudaAustriaMcL. TAG Turbo1650A. Prost, FRA
1985 Alain ProstFranceMcL. TAG Turbo1652M. Alboreto, ITA
1986 Alain ProstFranceMcL. TAG Turbo1641N. Mansell, GBR
1987 Nelson PiquetBrazilWilliams Honda Turbo1634N. Mansell, GBR
1988 Ayrton SennaBrazilMcLaren Honda Turbo16813A. Prost, FRA
1989 Alain ProstFranceMcLaren Honda1642A. Senna, BRA
1990 Ayrton SennaBrazilMcLaren Honda16610A. Prost, FRA
1991 Ayrton SennaBrazilMcLaren Honda1678N. Mansell, GBR
1992 Nigel MansellGreat BritainWilliams Renault16914R. Patrese, ITA
1993 Alain ProstFrance Williams Renault16713A. Senna, BRA
1994 Michael SchumacherGermanyBenetton Ford1486D. Hill, GBR
1995Michael SchumacherGermanyBenetton Renault1794D. Hill, GBR
1996Damon HillGreat BritainWilliams Renault1689J. Villeneuve, CAN
1997Jacques VilleneuveCanadaWilliams Renault17710H.H. Frentzen, GER
1998Mika HakkinenFinlandMcLaren Mercedes1689M. Schumacher, GER
1999Mika HakkinenFinlandMcLaren Mercedes16511E. Irvine, GBR
2000Michael SchumacherGermanyFerrari1799M. Hakkinen, FIN
2001Michael SchumacherGermanyFerrari17911D. Coulthard, GBR
2002Michael SchumacherGermanyFerrari17117R. Barrichello, BRA
2003 Michael Schumacher Germany Ferrari 166 5 K. Raikkonen, FIN

United States Grand PrixFormula One Circuit
Formula One Circuit