U.S. Grand Prix—East

Held from 1959-80 and 1981-88 at the following locations: Sebring, Fla. (1959); Riverside, Calif. (1960); Watkins Glen, N.Y. (1961-80); and Detroit (1982-88). There was no race in 1981. Race discontinued in 1989.

Multiple winners: Jim Clark, Graham Hill and Ayrton Senna (3); James Hunt, Carlos Reutemann and Jackie Stewart (2).

Year Car
1959 Bruce McLaren, NZE Cooper Climax
1960 Stirling Moss, GBR Lotus Climax
1961 Innes Ireland, GBR Lotus Climax
1962 Jim Clark, GBR Lotus Climax
1963 Graham Hill, GBR BRM
1964 Graham Hill, GBR BRM
1965 Graham Hill, GBR BRM
1966 Jim Clark, GBR Lotus BRM
1967 Jim Clark, GBR Lotus Ford
1968 Jackie Stewart, GBR Matra Ford
1969 Jochen Rindt, AUT Lotus Ford
1970 Emerson Fittipaldi, BRA Lotus Ford
1971 Francois Cevert, FRA Tyrrell Ford
1972 Jackie Stewart, GBR Tyrrell Ford
1973 Ronnie Peterson, SWE Lotus Ford
1974 Carlos Reutemann, ARG Brabham Ford
1975 Niki Lauda, AUT Ferrari
1976 James Hunt, GBR McLaren Ford
1977 James Hunt, GBR McLaren Ford
1978 Carlos Reutemann, ARG Ferrari
1979 Gilles Villeneuve, CAN Ferrari
1980 Alan Jones, AUS Williams Ford
1981 Not held
1982 John Watson, GBR McLaren Ford
1983 Michele Alboreto, ITA Tyrrell Ford
1984 Nelson Piquet, BRA Brabham BMW Turbo
1985 Keke Rosberg, FIN Williams Honda Turbo
1986 Ayrton Senna, BRA Lotus Renault Turbo
1987 Ayrton Senna, BRA Lotus Honda Turbo
1988 Ayrton Senna, BRA McLaren Honda Turbo

Indianapolis 500United States Grand PrixU.S. Grand Prix-West
United States Grand Prix