2001 CONCACAF Giants' Cup

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) instituted a new tournament in 2001. The all-new Giants' Cup joins the Champions' Series as CONCACAF club competitions set to be played each year. The Champions' Series has served as CONCACAF's premier club competition since its inception in 1962 and features the champions and runners-up of the domestic competitions within each of CONCACAF's 38 member nations.

The Giants' Series will include those clubs which are the most popular in each country, as determined by highest attendance. In addition, every two years the winners and runners-up of both the Giants' and Champions' Series (formerly known as the Champions' Cup) of the previous two years will meet in the eight-team FC Clubs' Cup (the inaugural edition is set for January 2003), a qualifying tournament to determine the representatives for the biennial FIFA Club World Championship (the next of which will be held in Spain in 2003).

Semifinals (Aug. 3)

D.C. United (MLS) def. CSD Communicaciones (Guatemala), 2-1

CF America (Mexico) def. CD Saprissa (Costa Rica), 2-1

Final (Aug. 5)

CF America def. D.C. United, 2-0

2001 UEFA CupEurope