2000 FIFA Club World Championship

Inaugural professional club championships organized by FIFA, not to be confused with the Toyota/Intercontinental Cup which is played annually between the winners of the Liberatadores and European Cup champions. Each of the six FIFA confederations (Africa, Asia, Europe, South America, North/Central America and Oceania) nominated teams for the eight-team tournament. Each confederation could submit a team meeting any of the following criteria: the winner of the confederation club championship or the winner of the confederation cup, the winner of the national league championship of the organizing national association or the winner of the 1998 Intercontinental Cup. Two teams were taken from both Europe and South America, while one team was taken from the four remaining confederations.

The eight teams participating in the first FIFA Club World Championship shared a $28 million purse. The champions received $6 million while the remaining teams received lesser amounts depending on where they finished. This is the first time that FIFA has offered prize money to teams playing in a FIFA competition. In the World Cup finals, each of the 32 national federations receives a fixed sum for each of the matches its team plays, which means that the top four teams all receive the same amount with no win bonus. At the 1998 World Cup in France, each team received approximately $650,000 per match. The 2000 FIFA Club World Championship was played in Brazil from January 5-14, 2000. The top team from each group advances to the championship match while the second-place team from each group meet in the third-place match. Both matches were played Jan. 14 in Rio de Janeiro.

First Round

Round Robin; each team plays the other teams in its group once. Note that three points are awarded for a win and one for a tie. (*) indicates team advanced to the final; (?) indicated team advanced to third-place game.

*Corinthians (Brazil)201627
?Real Madrid (Spain)201857
Al-Nassr (Saudi Arabia)120583
Raja Casablanca (Morocco)030590
RESULTS: Jan. 5?Real Madrid 3, Al-Nassr 1; Corinthians 2, Raja Casablanca 0; Jan. 7?Real Madrid 2, Corinthians 2; Al-Nassr 4, Raja Casablanca 3; Jan. 10?Real Madrid 3, Raja Casablanca 2; Corinthians 2, Al-Nassr 0.
Note: Corinthians advanced to the final on goal differential.
*Vasco da Gama (Brazil)300729
?Necaxa (Mexico)111544
Man. United (England)111444
So. Melbourne (Australia)030170
RESULTS: Jan. 6?Manchester United 1, Necaxa 1; Vasco da Gama 2, South Melbourne 0; Jan. 8?Vasco da Gama 3, Manchester United 1; Necaxa 3, South Melbourne 1; Jan. 11?Manchester United 2, South Melbourne 0; Vasco da Gama 2, Necaxa 1.
Note: Necaxa advanced to the third-place game on goal differential.

Third Place

Necaxa 1Real Madrid 1
Necaxa won the shoot-out, 4-3


Jan. 14, 2000 in Rio de Janeiro. Attendance: 73,000

Corinthians 0Vasco da Gama 0
Corinthians won the shoot-out, 4-3

Club Team Competition1999 Toyota Cup
Club Team Competition for Soccer's 1999-2000 Season