The Heisman Trophy Vote for College Football's 1999-2000 Season

Player of the Year

Ron Dayne, Wisconsin AP, Camp, Heisman, Maxwell

Position Players of the Year

O'Brien Award (Quarterback) Joe Hamilton, Ga. Tech
Walker Award (Running Back) Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
Biletnikoff Award (Receiver) Troy Walters, Stanford
Groza Award (Kicker) Sebastian Janikowski, Fla. St.
Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman) Chris Samuels, Ala., OT
Lombardi Award (Lineman) Corey Moore, Va. Tech, DE
Butkus Award (Linebacker) LaVar Arrington, Penn St.
Thorpe Award (Defensive Back) Tyrone Carter, Minnesota
Nagurski Award (Defensive Player) Corey Moore, Va. Tech, DE
Payton Award (IAA Player of the Year) Adrian Peterson,
Georgia Southern, RB
Hill Trophy (Div. II Player of the Year) Corte McGuffet,
N. Colorado, QB
Melberger Award (Div. III Player of the Year) Scott Pingel, Westminster (Mo.), WR

Coach of the Year

Frank Beamer, Va. Tech AFCA, AP, Camp, Dodd, FWAA

Presented since 1935 by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City and named after former college coach and DAC athletic director John W. Heisman. Voting done by national media and former Heisman winners. Each ballot allows for three names (points based on 3 for 1st, 2 for 2nd and 1 for 3rd).

Top 10 Vote-Getters

  Pos 1st 2nd 3rd Pts
Ron Dayne, Wisconsin RB 586 121 42 2042
Joe Hamilton, Ga. Tech QB 96 285 136 994
Michael Vick, Va. Tech QB 25 72 100 319
Drew Brees, Purdue QB 3 89 121 308
Chad Pennington, Marshall QB 21 45 94 247
Peter Warrick, Florida St. WR 14 50 61 203
Shaun Alexander, Alabama RB 11 43 52 171
Thomas Jones, Virginia RB 10 32 46 140
LaVar Arrington, Penn St. LB 3 14 17 54
Tim Rattay, La. Tech QB 1 5 16 29


Single Game Highs 1999-2000 Season Consensus All-America Team