Professional Football 1996-97 Season Annual Awards

The NFL does not sanction any of the major postseason awards for player and coaches, but many are given out. Among the presenters for the 1996 regular season were AP, UPI, The Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia, The Sporting News and the Pro Football Writers of America. Conference Most Valuable Player awards were also issued by the NFL Players Association.

Most Valuable Player

NFLBrett Favre, Green Bay, QBAP, PFWA, Max, TSN
AFCJohn Elway, Denver, QBNFLPA

Offensive Players of the Year

NFLBrett Favre, Green Bay, QBPFWA
 Terrell Davis, Denver, RBAP
AFCTerrell DavisUPI
NFCBrett FavreUPI

Defensive Players of the Year

NFLBruce Smith, Buffalo, DEAP, PFWA
AFCBruce SmithUPI
NFCKevin Green, Carolina, LBUPI

Rookies of the Year

NFLEddie George, Houston, RBTSN PFWA
AFCTerry Glenn, New England, WRUPI
NFCSimeon Rice, Arizona, DEUPI
OffenseEddie GeorgeAP
DefenseSimeon RiceAP

Coaches of the Year

NFLDom Capers, CarolinaAP, PFWA, Max, TSN
AFCTom Couglin, JacksonvilleUPI
NFCDom CapersUPI


NFL Pro Bowl1996-97 Season1996 All-NFL Team


1996-97 Football Season