College Football 1995-96 Season Annual Awards

Players of the Year

Eddie George, Ohio St.Camp, Heisman, Maxwell
Tommie Frazier, NebraskaThe Sporting News, UPI

Position Players of the Year

O'Brien Award (Quarterback)Danny Wuerffel
Unitas Award (Senior QB)Tommie Frazier
Walker Award (Running Back)Eddie George
UPI Back of YearTroy Davis
Biletnikoff Award (Receiver)Terry Glenn
Groza Award (Kicker)Michael Reeder
Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)Jonathan Ogden
UPI Lineman of YearJonathan Ogden
Lombardi Award (Lineman)Orlando Pace
Butkus Award (Linebacker)Kevin Hardy
Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)Greg Myers
Nagurski Award (Defensive Player)Pat Fitzgerald

Coach of the Year

Gary Barnett, NorthwesternAFCA, Camp, Dodd, FWAA, The Sporting News, UPI

Heisman Trophy Vote

Top 10 Vote-Getters

Presented since 1935 by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City and named after former college coach and DAC athletic director John W. Heisman. Voting done by national media and former Heisman winners. Each ballot allows for three names (points based on 3 for 1st, 2 for 2nd and 1 for 3rd).

Eddie George, Ohio St.RB2682481601460
Tommie Frazier, NebraskaQB2181921581196
Danny Wuerffel, FloridaQB185152128987
Darnell Autry, N'westernRB8778118535
Troy Davis, Iowa St.RB4180119402
Peyton Manning, Tenn.QB102137109
Keyshawn Johnson, USCWR9101259
Tim Biakabutuka, Mich.RB111631
Warrick Dunn, Florida St.RB231729
Bobby Hoying, Ohio St.QB091028
Note: All players were seniors except juniors Wuerffel, Biakabutuka and Dunn and sophomores Autry, Davis and Manning.

Single Game Highs1995-96 SeasonConsensus All-America Team

1995-96 Season