Cite

Search

Search results

42 results found

Brewer's: Libra

[the balance ]. One of the twelve signs of the Zodiac (September 22 to October 22), when day and night being weighed would be found equal. Source: Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, E. Cobha…

Abbreviation for Pounds

The Question: I have had a unsuccessful search for the origin of the abbreviation "lbs." which is used for pounds. What does it stand for, and where did it co…

Don DeLillo

Don DeLillo is a New York novelist whose books include the critical and popular successes White Noise (1985), Libra (1988) and Underworld (1997). Raised by Italian immigrants in the Bronx, DeLillo gr…

Brewer's: Libitina

The goddess who, at Rome, presided over funerals. “Omnis moriar; nullaque pars met vitabit Libitinam.” Source: Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, E. Cobham Brewer, 1894LibraLiber…

Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2006

Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 1:26 P.M. EST (18:26 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.Summer Solstice: June 21, 8:26 A.M. EDT (12:26 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.Autumn…

Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2007

Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 8:07 P.M. EDT (Mar. 21, 00:07 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.Summer Solstice: June 21, 2:06 P.M. EDT (18:06 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begi…

Federico Garcia Lorca

Federico Garcia Lorca was one of the most critically acclaimed Spanish poets of the 20th century, famous not only for his poems and plays, but also as an early martyr of the Spanish Civil War (1936-39…

Zodiac Signs of the Presidents

The Question: What zodiac sign have the most presidents been born under? The Answer: It is a tie. There have been five Scorpio (Oct. 23…