Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Awarded to the player “adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability” and named after Lady Evelyn Byng, the wife of former Canadian Governor General (1921-26) Baron Byng of Vimy. Winners selected by PHWA.

Multiple winners: Frank Boucher (7); Wayne Gretzky (5); Red Kelly (4); Bobby Bauer, Mike Bossy, Alex Delvecchio and Ron Francis (3); Johnny Bucyk, Marcel Dionne, Paul Kariya, Dave Keon, Stan Mikita, Joey Mullen, Frank Nighbor, Jean Ratelle, Clint Smith and Sid Smith (2).

1925 Frank Nighbor, Ott., C
1926 Frank Nighbor, Ott., C
1927 Billy Burch, NYA, C
1928 Frank Boucher, NYR, C
1929 Frank Boucher, NYR, C
1930 Frank Boucher, NYR, C
1931 Frank Boucher, NYR, C
1932 Joe Primeau, Tor., C
1933 Frank Boucher, NYR, C
1934 Frank Boucher, NYR, C
1935 Frank Boucher, NYR, C
1936 Doc Romnes, Chi., F
1937 Marty Barry, Det., C
1938 Gordie Drillon, Tor., RW
1939 Clint Smith, NYR, C
1940 Bobby Bauer, Bos., RW
1941 Bobby Bauer, Bos., RW
1942 Syl Apps, Tor., C
1943 Max Bentley, Chi., C
1944 Clint Smith, Chi., C
1945 Bill Mosienko, Chi., RW
1946 Toe Blake, Mon., LW
1947 Bobby Bauer, Bos., RW
1948 Buddy O'Connor, NYR, C
1949 Bill Quackenbush, Det., D
1950 Edgar Laprade, NYR, C
1951 Red Kelly, Det., D
1952 Sid Smith, Tor., LW
1953 Red Kelly, Det., D
1954 Red Kelly, Det., D
1955 Sid Smith, Tor., LW
1956 Earl Reibel, Det., C
1957 Andy Hebenton, NYR, RW
1958 Camille Henry, NYR, LW
1959 Alex Delvecchio, Det., LW
1960 Don McKenney, Bos., C
1961 Red Kelly, Tor., D
1962 Dave Keon, Tor., C
1963 Dave Keon, Tor., C
1964 Ken Wharram, Chi., RW
1965 Bobby Hull, Chi., LW
1966 Alex Delvecchio, Det., LW
1967 Stan Mikita, Chi., C
1968 Stan Mikita, Chi., C
1969 Alex Delvecchio, Det., LW
1970 Phil Goyette, St.L., C
1971 Johnny Bucyk, Bos., LW
1972 Jean Ratelle, NYR, C
1973 Gilbert Perreault, Buf., C
1974 Johnny Bucyk, Bos., LW
1975 Marcel Dionne, Det., C
1976 Jean Ratelle, NY-Bos., C
1977 Marcel Dionne, LA, C
1978 Butch Goring, LA, C
1979 Bob MacMillan, Atl., RW
1980 Wayne Gretzky, Edm., C
1981 Rick Kehoe, Pit., RW
1982 Rick Middleton, Bos., RW
1983 Mike Bossy, NYI, RW
1984 Mike Bossy, NYI, RW
1985 Jari Kurri, Edm., RW
1986 Mike Bossy, NYI, RW
1987 Joey Mullen, Calg., RW
1988 Mats Naslund, Mon., LW
1989 Joey Mullen, Calg., RW
1990 Brett Hull, St.L., RW
1991 Wayne Gretzky, LA, C
1992 Wayne Gretzky, LA, C
1993 Pierre Turgeon, NYI, C
1994 Wayne Gretzky, LA, C
1995 Ron Francis, Pit., C
1996Paul Kariya, Ana., LW
1997Paul Kariya, Ana., LW
1998 Ron Francis, Pit., C
1999 Wayne Gretzky, NYR, C
2000 Pavol Demitra, St.L, RW
2001Joe Sakic, Col., C
2002Ron Francis, Car., C
2003 Alexander Mogilny, Tor., RW
2004 Brad Richards, TB, C
Note: Bill Quackenbush and Red Kelly are the only defensemen to win the Lady Byng.

Vezina TrophyAnnual AwardsJames Norris Memorial Trophy
Annual Hockey Awards