1959 College Basketball Final AP Top 20

Writers' poll taken before major tournaments.

Before TournsHead CoachFinal Record
1Kansas St.24–1Tex Winter25–2
2Kentucky23–2Adolph Rupp24–3
3Mississippi St.24–1Babe McCarthysame*
4Bradley23–3Chuck Orsborn25–4
5Cincinnati23–3George Smith26–4
6N.C. State22–4Everett Casesame
7Michigan St.18–3Forddy Anderson19–4
8Auburn20–2Joel Eavessame
9N. Carolina20–4Frank McGuire20–5
10West Virginia25–4Fred Schaus29–5
11California20–4Pete Newell24–4
12St. Louis20–5John Benington20–6
13Seattle23–6Vince Cazzettasame
14St. Joe's, PA22–3Jack Ramsey22–5
15St. Mary's, CA18–5Jim Weaver19–6
16TCU19–5Buster Brannon20–6
17Oklahoma City20–6Abe Lemons20–7
18Utah21–5Jack Gardner21–7
19St. Bonaventure20–2Eddie Donovan20–3
20Marquette22–4Eddie Hickey23–6
Note: California won the NCAAs and unranked St. John's (16–6, Joe Lapchick, 20–6) won the NIT.
*Mississippi St. refused invitation to NCAAs because it was an integrated event.

1959 College Basketball RecapMajor Conference Champions
1959 College Basketball Recap