1974 College Basketball Final AP Top 20

Writers' poll taken after tournament.

Before TournsHead CoachFinal Record
1North Carolina St.26–1Norm Sloan30–1
2UCLA24–2John Wooden26–4
3Marquette22–4Al McGuire26–5
4Maryland23–5Lefty Driesellsame
5Notre Dame24–2Digger Phelps26–3
6Michigan21–4Johnny Orr22–5
7Kansas21–5Ted Owens23–7
8Providence26–3Dave Gavitt28–4
9Indiana20–5Bobby Knight23–5
10Long Beach St.24–2Lute Olsonsame
11Purdue18–8Fred Schaus22–8
12N. Carolina22–5Dean Smith22–6
13Vanderbilt23–3Roy Skinner23–5
14Alabama22–4C.M. Newtonsame
15Utah19–7Bill Foster22–8
16Pittsburgh23–3Buzz Ridl25–4
17USC22–4Bob Boyd24–5
18Oral Roberts21–5Ken Trickey23–6
19S. Carolina22–4Frank McGuire22–5
20Dayton19–7Don Donaher20–9
Note: North Carolina State won the NCAAs, Indiana won the CCA and Purdue won the NIT.

1974 College Basketball RecapMajor Conference Champions
1974 College Basketball Recap