1971 College Basketball Final AP Top 20

Writers' poll taken before tournament.

Before TournsHead CoachFinal Record
1UCLA25–1John Wooden29–1
2Marquette26–0Al McGuire28–1
3Penn26–0Dick Harter28–1
4Kansas25–1Ted Owens27–3
5USC24–2Bob Boydsame
6South Carolina23–4Frank McGuire23–6
7Western Kentucky20–5John Oldham24–6
8Kentucky22–4Adolph Rupp22–6
9Fordham25–1Digger Phelps23–3
10Ohio St.19–5Fred Taylor20–6
11Jacksonville22–3Tom Wasdin22–4
12Notre Dame19–7Johnny Dee20–9
13North Carolina22–6Dean Smith26–6
14Houston20–6Guy Lewis22–7
15Duquesne21–3Red Manning21–4
16Long Beach St.21–4Jerry Tarkanian23–5
17Tennessee20–6Ray Mears21–7
18Villanova19–5Jack Kraft23–6
19Drake20–7Maury John21–8
20BYU18–9Stan Watts18–11
Note: UCLA won the NCAAs and North Carolina won the NIT.

1971 College Basketball RecapMajor Conference Champions
1971 College Basketball Recap