Coach of the Year: Basketball Players, Sports

Coach of the Year

The Red Auerbach Trophy; voting by 115-member panel of local and national pro basketball writers and broadcasters. Each ballot has one entry.

Pat Riley, Miami6942-40 to 61-21
Dave Cowens, Charlotte2241-41 to 54-28
Jerry Sloan, Utah1355-27 to 64-18
Danny Ainge, Phoenix541-41 to 40-42
Doug Collins, Detroit346-36 to 54-28
Bill Fitch, LA Clippers129-53 to 36-46
Flip Saunders, Minnesota126-56 to 40-42
Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta146-36 to 56-26

All-Defensive TeamsAnnual AwardsRookie of the Year
Annual Awards: 1996-97 NBA Season, Pro Basketball
Sources +