The N.L.–American Assn. Series, 1882–1890

When the National League met the American League for the first time in the 1903 World Series, it was not the N.L.'s first venture into post-season play. From 1882–90, the N.L. pennant winner engaged in a championship series with the champion of the American Association. The Nationals won four of the eight series, lost once, and tied three times.

Year Champion Loser Series
1882 Chicago (N.L.) & Cincinnati (A.A.) 1–1
1883 No series
1884 Providence (N.L.) New York (A.A.) 3–0
1885 Chicago (N.L.) & St. Louis (A.A.) 3–3–1
1886 St. Louis (A.A.) Chicago (N.L.) 4–2
1887 Detroit (N.L.) St. Louis (A.A.) 10–5
1888 New York (N.L.) St. Louis (A.A.) 6–4
1889 New York (N.L.) Brooklyn (A.A.) 6–3
1890 Brooklyn (N.L.) & Louisville (A.A.) 3–3–1

Before the World SeriesEarly N.L. and A.L. Pennant Winners
Before the World Series