Siemens Westinghouse Competition in Math, Science, and Technology

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The Siemens Westinghouse Competition began in 1998 to recognize America's outstanding math, science, and technology students. The individual winner receives a $100,000 scholarship and the winning team shares a $100,000 scholarship.

Individual Winners

2007-2008: Wen Chyan, Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science, Denton, Texas: "Versatile Antimicrobial Coatings from Pulse Plasma Deposited Hydrogels and Hydrogel Composites."

2006-2007: Dmitry Vaintrob, South Eugene High School, Eugene, Oregon: ?The string topology BV algebra, Hochschild cohomology and the Goldman bracket on surfaces.?

2005-2006: Michael Viscardi, home schooled, San Diego California: ?On the Solution of the Dirichlet Problem with Rational Boundary Data.?

2004-2005: Aaron Goldin, San Dieguito High School Academy, Encinitas, Calif: ?Autonomous Gryscopic Ocean-Wave Powered Generator: Invention of a New Energy Conversion Technology.?

2003-2004: Yin Li, Stuyvesant High School, New York, N.Y.: ?Characterizing the Properties of a Translational Regulator Expressed in Mouse Brain?

2002-2003: Steven J. Byrnes, Roxbury Latin School, Lexington, Mass.: ?Poset-Game Periodicity.?

2001-2002: Ryan Patterson, Central High School, Grand Junction, Colo.: ?The Sign Language Translator.?

2000-2001: Mariangela Lisanti, Staples High School, Westport, Conn.: ?Conductance Quantization in Au Nanocontacts.?

1999-2000: Lisa Harris, Dalton School, New York, N.Y.: ?A Novel Assay for Detection of Four Common Cystic Fibrosis Mutations.?

Team Winners

2007-2008: Sajith M. Wickramasekara, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, North Carolina and Andrew Y. Guo, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, North Carolina: "A Functional Genomic Framework for Chemotherapeutic Drug Improvement and Identification."

2006-2007: Scott Molony, Steven Arcangeli and Scott Horton, Oak Ridge High School, Oak Ridge, Tennessee: "Linking Supercomputing and Systems Biology for Efficient Bioethanol Production."

2005-2006: Anna Lee, Phoenix Country Day School, Paradise Valley, Ariz. and Albert Shieh, Chaparral High School, Scottsdale, Ariz.: ?SNiPer: Improved SNP Genotype Calling for Affymetrix 10K GeneChip Microarray Data.?

2004-2005: (Lucie) Yueqi Guo and Xianlin Li, The North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, N.C.: ?CpG island methylation of GADD45 is marker of breast carcinogenesis?

2003-2004: Mark Schneider and Jeffrey Schneider, South Windsor High School, South Windsor, Conn.: ?Simulation of the West Nile Virus using STELLA 7.02.?

2002-2003: Juliet R. Girard and Roshan D. Prabhu, William L. Dickinson High School, Jersey City, N.J.: ?Identification and High Resolution Mapping of Flowering Time Genes in Rice.?

2001-2002: Shira Billet and Dora Sosnowik, Stella K. Abraham High School for Girls, Hewlett Bay Park, N.Y.: ?A Viscometer for Ultra Thin Films.?

2000-2001: Charles Olbert, Christopher Clearfield, and Nikolas Williams, The North Carolina School of Science and Math, Durham, N.C.: ?Discovery of a Pulsar Bow-Shock Nebula in a Nearby Supernova Remnant.?

1999-2000: Daniar Hussain and Steven Malliaris, New Trier High School, Winnetka, Ill.: ?Breakthrough data storage and retrieval program,?