Moses Kimball ARMSTRONG, Congress, DK (1832-1906)

ARMSTRONG Moses Kimball , a Delegate from the Territory of Dakota; born in Milan, Erie County, Ohio, September 19, 1832; attended Huron Institute and Western Reserve College, Cleveland, Ohio; moved to the Territory of Minnesota in 1856; elected surveyor of Mower County, and assigned to survey the United States lands in 1858; moved to Yankton, then a small Indian village, in Dakota Territory, when Minnesota Territory was admitted as a State; was a member of the first Territorial house of representatives in 1861; reelected in 1862 and 1863, serving as speaker in 1863; edited the Dakota Union in 1864; appointed clerk of the supreme court in 1865; elected to the Territorial council in 1866 and in 1867 was chosen president; acted as secretary of the Indian peace commission in 1867; established the great meridian and standard lines for United States surveys in southern Dakota and in the northern Red River Valley; again elected to the Territorial council, in 1869; elected as a Democrat to the Forty-second and Forty-third Congresses (March 4, 1871-March 3, 1875); unsuccessful candidate for reelection in 1874 to the Forty-fourth Congress; moved to St. James, Watonwan County, Minn., and engaged in banking and in the real estate business; died in Albert Lea, Minn., on January 11, 1906; interment in Lakewood Cemetery, Minneapolis, Minn.


Fleetwood, Mary. "Moses K. Armstrong." North Dakota History 28 (Winter 1961): 13-22.

Source: Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1771-Present

Birth Date