Conn Smythe Trophy

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

Conn Smythe Trophy

The Most Valuable Player of the Stanley Cup Playoffs, as selected by the Pro Hockey Writers Association. Presented since 1965 by Maple Leaf Gardens Limited in the name of the former Toronto coach, GM and owner, Conn Smythe. Winners who did not play for the Cup champion are in bold type.

Multiple winners: Patrick Roy (3); Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Bobby Orr and Bernie Parent (2).

1965 Jean Beliveau, Mon., C
1966 Roger Crozier, Det., G
1967 Dave Keon, Tor., C
1968 Glenn Hall, St.L., G
1969 Serge Savard, Mon., D
1970 Bobby Orr, Bos., D
1971 Ken Dryden, Mon., G
1972 Bobby Orr, Bos., D
1973 Yvan Cournoyer, Mon., RW
1974 Bernie Parent, Phi., G
1975 Bernie Parent, Phi., G
1976 Reggie Leach, Phi., RW
1977 Guy Lafleur, Mon., RW
1978 Larry Robinson, Mon., D
1979 Bob Gainey, Mon., LW
1980 Bryan Trottier, NYI, C
1981 Butch Goring, NYI, C
1982 Mike Bossy, NYI, RW
1983 Billy Smith, NYI, G
1984 Mark Messier, Edm., LW
1985 Wayne Gretzky, Edm., C
1986 Patrick Roy, Mon., G
1987 Ron Hextall, Phi., G
1988 Wayne Gretzky, Edm., C
1989 Al MacInnis, Calg., D
1990 Bill Ranford, Edm., G
1991 Mario Lemieux, Pit., C
1992 Mario Lemieux, Pit., C
1993 Patrick Roy, Mon., G
1994 Brian Leetch, NYR, D
1995 Claude Lemieux, NJ, RW
1996Joe Sakic, Col., C
1997Mike Vernon, Det., G
1998Steve Yzerman, Det., C
1999Joe Nieuwendyk, Dal., C
2000Scott Stevens, NJ, D
2001Patrick Roy, Col., G
2002Nicklas Lidstrom, Det., D
2 003 J-S Giguere, Ana., G
2004Brad Richards, TB, C
Note: Ken Dryden (1971) and Patrick Roy (1986) are the only players to win as rookies.

M.J. O'Brien TrophyThe Stanley Cup
The Stanley Cup
Sources +