1997-98 NBA Coach of the Year Winners

The Red Auerbach Trophy; voting by 116-member panel of local and national pro basketball writers and broadcasters. Each ballot has one entry.

Larry Bird, Indiana5039-43 to 53-24
Jerry Sloan, Utah2964-18 to 62-20
Mike Fratello, Cleveland1542-40 to 47-35
Pat Riley, Miami557-25 to 61-21
Danny Ainge, Phoenix440-42 to 56-26
George Karl, Seattle457-25 to 61-21
Phil Jackson, Chicago369-13 to 62-20
Rick Pitino, Boston315-67 to 36-46
Chuck Daly, Orlando145-37 to 41-41
John Calipari, New Jersey126-56 to 43-39
Jeff Van Gundy, New York157-25 to 43-39


All-Defensive TeamsAnnual AwardsRookie of the Year


1997 Annual Basketball Awards
Sources +