1996 PEN Literary Award Winners

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1996 PEN Literary Awards were presented in New York City on May 20, 1996. The Hemingway Award was presented April 21, 1996, in Boston.

Ernest Hemingway Foundation/Pen Award for First FictionChang-rae Lee, Native Speaker (Riverhead)
Pen/Book-of-the-Month Club Translation PrizeStanislaw Baranczak and Clare Cavanagh, translators, View With a Grain of Sand (Harcourt Brace) by Wislawa Szymborska
Pen Award for Poetry in TranslationGuy Davenport, editor and translator, 7 Greeks (New Directions)
Pen/Voelcker Award for PoetryFranz Wright
Pen/Martha Albrand Award for First NonfictionMary Karr, The Liars' Club (Viking)
Pen/Spielvogel-Diamonstein Award for the Art of the EssayThomas Nagel, Other Minds—Critical Essays 1969—1994 (Oxford)
Gregory Kolovakos Awards Recognizing Lifetime Dedication to Bringing Works of Hispanic Literatures to English-Language ReadersSuzanne Jill Levine
Jean Franco
Emerging Writer Award/Renato Poggioli Translation AwardLouise Rozier, Little Jesus of Sicily by Fortunato Pasqualino (in progress)

Sources +