2000 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 2000 Academy Awards were presented March 25, 2001 at the Los Angeles Shrine Auditorium.

Best PictureChocolat, David Brown, Kit Golden, and Leslie Holleran, Producers
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Bill Kong, Hsu Li Kong, and Ang Lee, Producers
Erin Brockovich, Danny DeVito, Michael Shamberg, and Stacey Sher, Producers
Gladiator, Douglas Wick, David Franzoni, and Branko Lustig, Producers
Traffic, Edward Zwick, Marshall Herskovitz, and Laura Bickford, Producers
Actor in a Leading RoleJavier Bardem, Before Night Falls
Russell Crowe, Gladiator
Tom Hanks, Cast Away
Ed Harris, Pollock
Geoffrey Rush, Quills
Actress in a Leading RoleJoan Allen, The Contender
Juliette Binoche, Chocolat
Ellen Burstyn, Requiem for a Dream
Laura Linney, You Can Count on Me
Julia Roberts, Erin Brockovich
Actor in a Supporting RoleJeff Bridges, The Contender
Willem Dafoe, Shadow of the Vampire
Benicio Del Toro, Traffic
Albert Finney, Erin Brockovich
Joaquin Phoenix, Gladiator
Actress in a Supporting RoleJudi Dench, Chocolat
Marcia Gay Harden, Pollock
Kate Hudson, Almost Famous
Frances McDormand, Almost Famous
Julie Walters, Billy Elliot
DirectingStephen Daldry, Billy Elliot
Ang Lee, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Steven Soderbergh, Erin Brockovich
Ridley Scott, Gladiator
Steven Soderbergh, Traffic
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenCameron Crowe, Almost Famous
Lee Hall, Billy Elliot
Susannah Grant, Erin Brockovich
David Franzoni, John Logan, and William Nicholson, Gladiator
Kenneth Lonergan, You Can Count on Me
Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or PublishedRobert Nelson Jacobs, Chocolat
Wang Hui Ling, James Schamus, and Tsai Kuo Jung, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Ethan Coen and Joel Coen, O Brother, Where Art Thou?
Stephen Gaghan, Traffic
Steve Kloves, Wonder Boys
CinematographyPeter Pau, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
John Mathieson, Gladiator
Lajos Koltai, Malena
Roger Deakins, O Brother, Where Art Thou?
Caleb Deschanel, The Patriot
Art DirectionTim Yip, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Michael Corenblith, Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas
Arthur Max, Gladiator
Martin Childs, Quills
Jean Rabasse, Vatel
SoundRandy Thom, Tom Johnson, Dennis Sands, and William B. Kaplan, Cast Away
Scott Millan, Bob Beemer, and Ken Weston, Gladiator
Kevin O'Connell, Greg P. Russell, and Lee Orloff, The Patriot
John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff, David Campbell, and Keith A. Wester, The Perfect Storm
Steve Maslow, Gregg Landaker, Rick Kline, and Ivan Sharrock, U-571
Song“A Fool In Love”, Meet the Parents, Randy Newman
“I've Seen It All,” Dancer in the Dark, Bjork, Lars von Trier, and Sjon Sigurdsson
“A Love Before Time,” Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Jorge Calandrelli, Tan Dun, and James Schamus
“My Funny Friend and Me,” The Emperor's New Groove, Sting and David Hartley
“Things Have Changed”, Wonder Boys, Bob Dylan
Original ScoreRachel Portman, Chocolat
Tan Dun, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Hans Zimmer, Gladiator
Ennio Morricone, Malena
John Williams, The Patriot
Film EditingJoe Hutshing and Saar Klein, Almost Famous
Tim Squyres, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Pietro Scalia, Gladiator
Stephen Mirrione, Traffic
Dede Allen, Wonder Boys
Costume DesignTim Yip, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Rita Ryack, Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas
Janty Yates, Gladiator
Anthony Powell, 102 Dalmatians
Jacqueline West, Quills
MakeupMichèle Burke and Edouard Henriques, The Cell
Rick Baker and Gail Ryan, Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas
Ann Buchanan and Amber Sibley, Shadow of the Vampire
Visual EffectsJohn Nelson, Neil Corbould, Tim Burke, and Rob Harvey, Gladiator
Scott E. Anderson, Craig Hayes, Scott Stokdyk, and Stan Parks, Hollow Man
Stefen Fangmeier, Habib Zargarpour, John Frazier, and Walt Conti, The Perfect Storm
Sound Effects EditingAlan Robert Murray and Bub Asman, Space Cowboys
Jon Johnson, U-571
Short Films
AnimationFather and Daughter(Michael Dudok de Wit)
The Periwig-Maker (Steffen Schäffler and Annette Schäffler)
Rejected(Don Hertzfeldt)
Live ActionBy Courier (Peter Riegert and Ericka Frederick)
One Day Crossing (Joan Stein and Christina Lazaridi)
Quiero Ser (I want to be) (Florian Gallenberger)
Seraglio (Gail Lerner and Colin Campbell )
A Soccer Story (Una Historia de Futebol) (Paulo Machline)
Short SubjectBig Mama (Tracy Seretean)
Curtain Call, (Chuck Braverman and Steve Kalafer)
Dolphins, (Greg MacGillivray and Alec Lorimore)
The Man on Lincoln's Nose, (Daniel Raim)
On Tiptoe: Gentle Steps to Freedom (Eric Simonson and Leelai Demoz)
FeatureInto the Arms of Strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport (Mark Jonathan Harris and Deborah Oppenheimer)
Legacy (Tod Lending)
Long Night's Journey into Day (Frances Reid and Deborah Hoffmann)
Scottsboro: An American Tragedy (Barak Goodman and Daniel Anker)
Sound and Fury (Josh Aronson and Roger Weisberg)
Foreign Language FilmAmores Perros, Mexico
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Taiwan
Divided We Fall, Czech Republic
Everybody Famous, Belgium
The Taste of Others, France
Irving G. Thalberg AwardDino De Laurentiis, producer
Gordon E. Sawyer Award (Technological contribution)Irwin W. Young
Honorary AwardErnest Lehman, screenwriter, producer, director
Honorary AwardJack Cardiff, cinematographer

Sources +