| Share
 
Sun, moon, stars October 2002

October 2002 Overview
Week by Week
Go to week   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Major phenomena
6 New Moon
13 First Quarter
21 Full Moon
29 Last Quarter
Other Months
Month
Year  
(available through 3/2007)
Celestial Links

Visit the Astronomy Center for more on the universe, the solar system, and related astronomical phenomena

October 2002—Week 1 (Oct. 1–5)

10/2:
0700 UT, 3 am EDT
Jupiter is 4 degrees south of the Moon.
10/3:
2200 UT, 6 pm EDT
The asteroid Juno is in conjunction with the Sun, that is, Juno and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.
10/4:
0800 UT, 4 am EDT
Ceres, the largest asteroid, is at opposition, that is, Ceres and the Sun are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.
10/5:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (Oct. 4)
Mars is 4 degrees south of the Moon.
 


October 2002—Week 2 (Oct. 6–12)

10/6:
0200 UT, 10 pm EDT (Oct. 5)
Mercury appears to be motionless in the sky as its apparent backward, or retrograde, motion changes back to direct motion.

1100 UT, 7 am EDT
NEW MOON

1300 UT, 9 am EDT
The Moon is at its perigee, or closest point to Earth in its monthly orbit.

10/8:
1000 UT, 6 am EDT
Venus is 10 degrees south of the Moon.
10/10:
0900 UT, 5 am EDT
Venus appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.

10/11:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
Saturn appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.



October 2002—Week 3 (Oct. 13–19)

10/13:
0600 UT, 2 am EDT
FIRST QUARTER

0800 UT, 4 am EDT
Mercury is at its greatest elongation, or angular distance from the Sun, at 18 degrees west of the Sun.

10/14:
1400 UT, 10 am EDT
Neptune is 5 degrees north of the Moon.

10/15:
2200 UT, 6 am EDT
Uranus is 4 degrees north of the Moon.



October 2002—Week 4 (Oct. 20–26)

10/20:
0500 UT, 1 am EDT
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.

1100 UT, 7 am EDT
Neptune appears to be motionless in the sky as its apparent backward, or retrograde, motion changes back to direct motion.

10/21:
0700 UT, 3 am EDT (midnight)
FULL MOON

10/26:
0900 UT, 4 am EDT
Saturn is 3 degrees south of the Moon.


October 2002—Week 5 (Oct. 27–31)

10/27:
0900 UT, 4 am EDT
Mercury is 4 degrees north of Spica, the brightest star in the constellation Virgo.

10/29:
0500 UT, 12 am EST (midnight)
LAST QUARTER

2200 UT, 5 pm EST
Jupiter is 4 degrees south of the Moon.

10/31:
1200 UT, 7 am EST
Venus is in inferior conjunction, that is, the Sun and the Earth are aligned on opposite sides of Venus.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
The first official national flag, also known as the Stars and Stripes, or Old Glory, was approved by the Continental Congress on June 14, 1777.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring