| Share
 
Sun, moon, stars ONovember 2002
November 2002 Overview
Week by Week
Go to week   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Major phenomena
4 New Moon
11 First Quarter
20 Full Moon
27 Last Quarter
Other Months
Month
Year  
(available through 3/2007)
Celestial Links
Visit the Astronomy Center for more on the universe, the solar system, and related astronomical phenomena

November 2002—Week 1 (Nov. 1–2)

11/1:
0000 UT, 7 PM EST (Oct. 31)
Vesta, the third-largest asteroid, is 1 degree 3 minutes south of the Moon. The asteroid is occulted, or hidden from view by the Moon.
11/2:
1800 UT, 1 PM EST
Mars is 4 degrees south of the Moon.
 


November 2002—Week 2 (Nov. 3–9)

11/3:
1200 UT, 7 AM EST
The asteroid Juno is 0 degrees 6 minutes north of the Moon. The asteroid is occulted, or hidden from view, by the Moon.

11/4:
0100 UT, 8 PM EST (Nov. 3)
The Moon is at its perigee, or closest point to Earth in its monthly orbit.

1200 UT, 7 AM EST
Uranus appears to be motionless in the sky as its apparent backward, or retrograde, motion changes back to direct motion.

2100 UT, 4 PM EST
NEW MOON


November 2002—Week 3 (Nov. 10–16)

11/10:
2200 UT, 5 PM EST
Neptune is 5 degrees north of the Moon.

11/11:
2100 UT, 4 PM EST
FIRST QUARTER

11/12:
0500 UT, 12 AM EST (midnight)
Uranus is 5 degrees north of the Moon.

11/14:
0500 UT, 12 AM EST (midnight)
Mercury is in superior conjunction, that is, Mercury and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.

11/16:
1100 UT, 6 AM EST
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.



November 2002—Week 4 (Nov. 17–23)

11/19:
0400 UT, 11 PM EST (Nov. 18)
Venus appears to be motionless in the sky as its apparent backward, or retrograde, motion changes back to direct motion.

11/20:
0200 UT, 9 PM EST (Nov. 19)
FULL MOON Partial eclipse

0500 UT, 12 AM EST (midnight)
Mars is 3 degrees north of Spica, the brightest star in the constellation Virgo.

11/22:
1200 UT, 7 AM EST
Saturn is 3 degrees south of the Moon.


November 2002—Week 5 (Nov. 24–30)

11/26:
0700 UT, 2 AM EST
Jupiter is 4 degrees south of the Moon.

11/27:
1600 UT, 11 AM EST
LAST QUARTER

11/29:
0300 UT, 10 PM EST (Nov. 28)
Vesta, the third-largest asteroid, is 0 degrees 4 seconds north of the Moon. The asteroid is occulted, or hidden from view, by the Moon.

1800 UT, 1 PM EST
Ceres, the largest asteroid, appears to be motionless in the sky as its apparent backward, or retrograde, motion changes back to direct motion.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
Steamboat, in Yellowstone National Park, is the largest active geyser in the world, sending water more than 300 ft. into the air for 3 to 20 minutes.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring