| Share
 
Sun, moon, stars March 2002

March 2002 Overview
Week by Week
Go to week   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Major phenomena
6 Last Quarter
14 New Moon
20 Vernal Equinox
22 First Quarter
28 Full Moon
Other Months
Month
Year  
(available through 3/2007)
Celestial Links
Visit the Astronomy Center for more on the universe, the solar system, and related astronomical phenomena

March 2002—Week 1 (March 1-5)

3/1:
1500 UT, 10 am EST
Jupiter appears to be motionless in the sky as its apparent backward, or retrograde, motion changes back to direct motion.

March 2002—Week 2 (March 6-12)

3/6:
0100 UT, 8 pm EST (March 5)
LAST QUARTER

3/9:
0300 UT, 10 pm EST (March 8)
Mercury is 1 degree 2 minutes south of Uranus.

3/10:
0900 UT, 4 am EST
Neptune is 4 degrees north of the Moon.

3/11:
1700 UT, 12 pm EST (noon)
Uranus is 4 degrees north of the Moon.

3/12:
0100 UT, 8 pm EST (March 11)
Mercury is 3 degrees north of the Moon.


March 2002—Week 3 (March 13-19)


3/14:
0100 UT, 8 pm EST (March 13)
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.
0200 UT, 9 pm EST (March 13)
NEW MOON

3/18:
0100 UT, 8 pm EST (March 17)
Mars is 4 degrees north of the Moon.



March 2002—Week 4 (March 20-26)

3/20:
1000 UT, 5 am EST
Saturn is 0 degrees 5 minutes south of the Moon. Saturn is occulted, or hidden from view, by the Moon.
1000 UT, 5 am EST
Vesta, the third-largest asteroid, is 0 degrees 5 minutes south of the Moon. The asteroid is occulted, or hidden from view, by the Moon.
1900 UT, 2 pm EST
EQUINOX [more about the Vernal Equinox]

3/21:
0600 UT, 1 am EST
Pluto appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.

3/22:
0200 UT, 9 pm EST
FIRST QUARTER
1200 UT, 7 am EST
Jupiter is 1 degree 1 minute south of the Moon.

3/23:
1200 UT, 7 am EST
The asteroid Juno appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.


March 2002—Week 5 (March 27-31)

3/28:
0800 UT, 3 am EST
The Moon is at its perigee, or closest point to Earth in its monthly orbit.
1800 UT, 1 pm EST
FULL MOON

3/31:
1600 UT, 11 am EST
Saturn is 4 degrees north of Aldebaran, the brightest star in the constellation Taurus.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
The first team to win the World Series was the Boston Red Sox in 1903.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring