| Share
 
Sun, moon, stars June 2002

June 2002 Overview
Week by Week
Go to week   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Major phenomena
3 Last Quarter
11 New Moon
Annular eclipse
18 First Quarter
21 Solstice
24 Full Moon
Partial eclipse
Other Months
Month
Year  
(available through 3/2007)
Celestial Links
Visit the Astronomy Center for more on the universe, the solar system, and related astronomical phenomena

June 2002—Week 1 (June 1-5)

6/1:
1800 UT, 2 pm EDT
Uranus is 4 degrees north of the Moon.
6/3:
0000 UT, 8 pm EDT (June 2)
LAST QUARTER
0700 UT, 3 am EDT
Uranus appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.
1800 UT, 2 pm EDT
Venus is 1 degree 6 minutes north of Jupiter.
6/4:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.
 


June 2002—Week 2 (June 6-12)

6/7:
0500 UT, 1 am EDT
Pluto is at opposition, that is, Pluto and the Sun are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.

6/8:
1100 UT, 7 am EDT
Mercury appears to be motionless in the sky as it goes from retrograde to direct motion.
2300 UT, 7 pm EDT
Pallas, the second-largest asteroid, appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.

6/9:
1100 UT, 7 am EDT
Saturn is in conjunction with the Sun, that is, Saturn and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.
1400 UT, 10 am EDT
Mercury is 3 degrees south of the Moon.
2000 UT, 4 pm EDT
Venus is 5 degrees south of Pollux, the brightest star in the constellation Gemini.

6/11:
0000 UT, 8 pm EDT (June 10)
NEW MOON
An annular (ringed) eclipse of the Sun will be visible mainly in the U.S. and Canada, the Pacific Ocean, and eastern Asia. [annular eclipse | eclipse facts]

6/12:
1200 UT, 8 am EDT
Mars is 0 degrees 9 minutes south of the Moon. Mars is occulted, or hidden from view, by the Moon.



June 2002—Week 3 (June 13-19)


6/13:
0400 UT, 12am EDT (midnight)
Jupiter is 2 degrees south of the Moon.
2100 UT, 5 pm EDT
Venus is 1 degree 5 minutes south of the Moon.

6/18:
0000 UT, 8 pm EDT (June 17)
FIRST QUARTER

6/19:
0700 UT, 3 am EDT
The Moon is at its perigee, or closest point to Earth in its monthly orbit.



June 2002—Week 4 (June 20-26)

6/21:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
Solstice [more about the summer solstice]
1500 UT, 11 am EDT
Mercury is at its greatest elongation, or angular distance from the Sun, at 23 degrees west of the Sun.

6/24:
0400 UT, 12 am EDT (midnight)
Mercury is 2 degrees north of Aldebaran, the brightest star in the constellation Taurus.
2200 UT, 6 pm EDT
FULL MOON
Partial eclipse


June 2002—Week 5 (June 27-31

6/27:
1600 UT, 12 pm EDT (noon)
Neptune is 4 degrees north of the Moon.

6/29:
0200 UT, 10 pm EDT (June 28)
Uranus is 4 degrees north of the Moon.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
About 350 mountaineers have climbed all "seven summits"—the highest peak on each of the seven continents.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring