| Share
 
Sun, moon, stars August 2002

August 2002 Overview
Week by Week
Go to week   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Major phenomena
1 Last Quarter
8 New Moon
15 First Quarter
22 Full Moon
31 Last Quarter
Other Months
Month
Year  
(available through 3/2007)
Celestial Links
Visit the Astronomy Center for more on the universe, the solar system, and related astronomical phenomena

August 2002—Week 1 (Aug. 1-5)

8/1:
1000 UT, 6 am EDT
LAST QUARTER
8/2:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (Aug. 1)
Neptune is at opposition, that is, Neptune and the Sun are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.
8/5:
0400 UT, 12 am EDT (midnight)
Saturn is 2 degrees south of the Moon.
 


August 2002—Week 2 (Aug. 6-12)

8/6:
0400 UT, 12 am EDT (midnight)
Mercury is 0 degrees 9 minutes north of Regulus, the brightest star in the constellation Leo.

8/8:
1900 UT, 3 pm EDT
NEW MOON

8/10:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (Aug. 9)
Mercury is 4 degrees south of the Moon.
2200 UT, 6 pm EDT
Mars is in conjunction with the Sun, that is, Mars and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.
2300 UT, 7 pm EDT
The Moon is at its perigee, or closest point to Earth in its monthly orbit.

8/11:
2200 UT, 6 pm EDT
Venus is 6 degrees south of the Moon.

8/12:
1200 UT, 8 am EDT
Pallas, the second-largest asteroid, is at opposition, that is, Pallas and the Sun are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.



August 2002—Week 3 (Aug. 13-19)

8/15:
1000 UT, 6 am EDT
FIRST QUARTER

8/17:
1500 UT, 11 am EDT
Ceres, the largest asteroid, appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.



August 2002—Week 4 (Aug. 20-26)

8/20:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (Aug. 19)
Uranus is at opposition, that is, Neptune and the Sun are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.

8/21:
0400 UT, 12 am EDT (midnight)
Neptune is 4 degrees north of the Moon.

8/22:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
Venus is at its greatest elongation, or angular distance from the Sun, at 46 degrees east of the Sun.
1400 UT, 10 am EDT
Uranus is 4 degrees north of the Moon.
2200 UT, 6 pm EDT
FULL MOON

8/26:
1800 UT, 2 pm EDT
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.


August 2002—Week 5 (Aug. 27-31)

8/27:
2000 UT, 4 pm EDT
Pluto appears to be motionless in the sky as its direct motion changes to apparent backward, or retrograde, motion.

8/31:
0300 UT, 11 pm EDT (Aug. 30)
LAST QUARTER


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
Hall of Fame pitcher Nolan Ryan is the only baseball player to have his number retired by three teams—Texas, Houston and California. This doesn't include Jackie Robinson whose No. 42 was retired by all teams.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring