| Share
 
Sun, moon, stars April 2002

April 2002 Overview
Week by Week
Go to week   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Major phenomena
4 Last Quarter
12 New Moon
20 First Quarter
27 Full Moon
Other Months
Month
Year  
(available through 3/2007)
Celestial Links

Visit the Astronomy Center for more on the universe, the solar system, and related astronomical phenomena


April 2002—Week 1 (April 1-5)

4/4:
1500 UT, 10 am EST
LAST QUARTER

April 2002—Week 2 (April 6-12)

4/6:
1600 UT, 11 am EST
Neptune is 4 degrees north of the Moon.

4/7:
0900 UT, 5 am EDT
Mercury is in superior conjunction, that is, Mercury and Earth are aligned on opposite sides of the Sun.

4/8:
0100 UT, 9 pm EDT (April 7)
Uranus is 4 degrees north of the Moon.

4/10:
0500 UT, 1 am EDT
The Moon is at its apogee, or farthest point from Earth in its monthly orbit.

4/12:
1900 UT, 3 pm EDT
NEW MOON


April 2002—Week 3 (April 13-19)

4/14:
1700 UT, 1 pm EDT
Venus is 3 degrees north of the Moon.

4/15:
2300 UT, 7 pm EDT
Mars is 2 degrees north of the Moon.

4/16:
2000 UT, 4 pm EDT
Saturn is 0 degrees 8 minutes south of the Moon. Saturn is occulted, or hidden from view, by the Moon.

4/17:
1000 UT, 6 am EDT
Vesta, the third-largest asteroid, is 0 degrees 7 minutes south of the Moon. The asteroid is occulted, or hidden from view, by the Moon.

4/18:
2300 UT, 7 pm EDT
Jupiter is 1 degree 6 minutes south of the Moon.



April 2002—Week 4 (April 20-26)


4/20:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
FIRST QUARTER

4/25:
1600 UT, 12 pm (noon)
The Moon is at its perigee, or closest point to Earth in its monthly orbit.


April 2002—Week 5 (April 27-31)

4/27:
0300 UT, 11 pm EDT (April 26)
FULL MOON

4/29:
1300 UT, 9 am EDT
Mars is 6 degrees north of Aldebaran, the brightest star in the constellation Taurus.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
Curling is one of four winter Olympic sports contested indoors. The other three are hockey, figure skating, and speed skating.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring