| Share

2008 MacArthur Foundation Awards


Related Links

The MacArthur Foundation awards monetary prizes each year in order to provide financial assistance for selected innovators.

Chimamanda Adichie
31, fiction writer, Columbia, Maryland
Will Allen
59, urban farmer, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Regina Benjamin
51, rural family physician, Bayou La Batre, Alabama
Kirsten Bomblies
34, plant evolutionary geneticist, Tubingen, Germany
Tara Donovan
38, sculptor, Brooklyn, New York
Wafaa El-Sadr
58, infectious disease physician, New York, New York
Andrea Ghez
43, astrophysicist, Los Angeles, California
Stephen Houston
49, anthropologist and epigrapher, Providence, Rhode Island
Mary Jackson
63, fiber artist, Charleston, South Carolina
Leila Josefowicz
30, violinist, New York, New York
Alexei Kitaev
45, physicist and computer scientist, Pasadena, California
Walter Kitundu
35, instrument maker and composer, San Francisco, California
Susan Mango
47, developmental biologist, Salt Lake City, Utah
Diane Meier
56, geriatrician, New York, New York
David Montgomery
46, geomorphologist, Seattle, Washington
John Ochsendorf
34, structural engineer and architectural preservationist, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Peter Pronovost
43, critical care physician, Baltimore, Maryland
Adam Riess
38, astronomer, Baltimore, Maryland
Alex Ross
40, music critic, New York, New York
Nancy Siraisi
76, medical historian, Brooklyn, New York
Marin Soljacic
34, optical physicist, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Sally Temple
49, neuroscientist, Albany, New York
Jennifer Tipton
71, stage lighting designer, New York, New York
Rachel Wilson
34, experimental neurobiologist, Boston, Massachusetts
Miguel Zenón
31, saxophonist, New York, New York
2007 MacArthur Foundation Awards MacArthur Foundation Awards

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
In 1993, Toni Morrison became the first African-American woman to win the Nobel Prize for literature.