| Share

Sportsmanship Award

Each of the NBA's 29 teams nominated one player from their roster “who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court,” then a panel made up of former NBA players Tommy Heinsohn, Eddie Johnson, Gil McGregor, Ed Pinckney and Kenny Smith selected the four divisional winners from the pool of nominees. The award winner is chosen from the four divisional winners in vote by a 126-member panel of local and national pro basketball writers and broadcasters. The winner receives the Joe Dumars Trophy, named for the Detroit Pistons guard who won the inaugural sportsmanship award in 1996.

Steve Smith, San AntonioMidwestG/F65
P.J. Brown, CharlotteCentralF28
LaPhonso Ellis, MiamiAtlanticC/F22
Shawn Marion, PhoenixPacificF11

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Defensive Player of the Year AwardAnnual AwardsJ. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring