| Share

Annual Awards

Player of the Year

Chris Weinke, FSUHeisman
Josh Heupel, OklahomaAP, Camp
Drew Brees, PurdueMaxwell

Position Players of the Year

O'Brien Award (Quarterback)Chris Weinke, FSU
Walker Award (Running Back)LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU
Biletnikoff Award (Receiver)Antonio Bryant, Pittsburgh
Groza Award (Kicker)Jonathan Ruffin, Cincinnati
Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)John Henderson, Tennessee
Lombardi Award (Lineman)Jamal Reynolds, FSU
Butkus Award (Linebacker)Dan Morgan, Miami-FL
Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)Jamar Fletcher, Wisconsin
Nagurski Award (Defensive Player)Dan Morgan, Miami-FL
Payton Award (IAA Player of the Year)Louis Ivory, Furman
Hill Trophy (Div. II Player of the Year)Dusty Bonner, Valdosta St.
Melberger Award (Div. III Player of the Year)R.J. Bowers, Grove City (PA)

Coach of the Year

Bob Stoops, OklahomaAFCA, AP, Camp, Dodd, FWAA

Heisman Trophy Vote

Presented since 1935 by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City and named after former college coach and DAC athletic director John W. Heisman. Voting done by national media and former Heisman winners. Each ballot allows for three names (points based on 3 for 1st, 2 for 2nd and 1 for 3rd).

Top 10 Vote-Getters

Chris Weinke, Florida St.QB369216891628
Josh Heupel, OklahomaQB2862901141552
Drew Brees, PurdueQB69107198619
LaDainian Tomlinson, TCURB47110205566
Damien Anderson, NorthwesternRB62043101
Michael Vick, Va. TechQB7143483
Santana Moss, Miami-FLWR392855
Marques Tuiasosopo, WashingtonQB581041
Ken Simonton, Oregon St.RB151225
Rudi Johnson, AuburnRB31920

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Single Game Highs2000–2001 SeasonConsensus All-America Team

More on Annual Awards from Infoplease:

  • Annual Awards - Annual Awards Players of the Year Wooden Award Voting Defensive Player of the Year Coaches of the ...
  • Annual Awards - Annual Awards Players of the Year Coaches of the Year Consensus All-America Team Information ...
  • Annual Awards - Annual Awards Player of the Year Tommy Maddox, Los Angeles, QB Offensive Player of the Year John ...
  • Annual Awards - Annual Awards Most Valuable Player Cy Young Award Rookie of the Year Manager of the Year ...
  • Annual Awards - Annual Awards Men Women Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All ...

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring