| Share

Steeplechase Racing

Champion Horses

Annual horse of the year since 1956 based on vote of the National Turf Writers Association and other selected media.

Multiple winners: Lonesome Glory (5); Flatterer (4); Bon Nouvel and Zaccio (3); Café Prince, Morley Street and Neji (2).

1962Barnaby's Bluff
1963Amber Diver
1964Bon Nouvel
1965Bon Nouvel
1966Tuscalee & Mako
1967Quick Pitch
1968Bon Nouvel
1970Top Bid
1971Shadow Brok
1973Athenian Idol
1974Gran Kan
1975Life's Illusion
1976Fire Control & Straight and True
1977Café Prince
1978Café Prince
1979Martie's Anger
1988Jimmy Lorenzo
1989Highland Bud
1990Morley Street
1991Morley Street
1992Lonesome Glory
1993Lonesome Glory
1994Warm Spell
1995Lonesome Glory
1997Lonesome Glory
1998Flat Top
1999Lonesome Glory
2000All Gong

Champion Jockeys

Annual leading jockeys by races won since 1956, according to the National Steeplechase Association.

Multiple winners: Joe Aitcheson Jr. (7); Jerry Fishback (5); John Cushman and Alfred P. Smithwick (4); Tom Skiffington and Jeff Teter (3); Gus Brown, Ricky Hendriks, Jonathan Kiser, James Lawrence, Blythe Miller, Chip Miller and Thomas Walsh (2).

1956Alfred P. Smithwick
1957Alfred P. Smithwick
1958Alfred P. Smithwick
1959James Murphy
1960Thomas Walsh
1961Joe Aitcheson Jr.
1962Alfred P. Smithwick
1963Joe Aitcheson Jr.
1964Joe Aitcheson Jr.
1965Doug Small Jr.
1966Thomas Walsh
1967Joe Aitcheson Jr.
1968Joe Aitcheson Jr.
1969Joe Aitcheson Jr.
1970Joe Aitcheson Jr.
1971Jerry Fishback
1972Michael O'Brien
1973Jerry Fishback
1974Jerry Fishback
1975Jerry Fishback
1976Tom Skiffington
1977Jerry Fishback
1978Tom Skiffington
1979Tom Skiffington
1980John Cushman
1981John Cushman
1982John Cushman
1983John Cushman
1984Jeff Teter
1985Bernie Houghton
1986Ricky Hendriks
1987Ricky Hendriks
1988Jonathan Smart
1989James Lawrence
1990Jeff Teter
1991Jeff Teter
1992Craig Thornton
1993James Lawrence
1994Blythe Miller
1995Blythe Miller
1996Chip Miller
1997Arch Kingsley Jr.
 & Jonathan Kiser
1998Chip Miller
 & Sean Clancy
1999Jonathan Kiser
2000Gus Brown
2001Gus Brown

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Thoroughbred RacingThrough The Years

More on Steeplechase Racing from Infoplease:

  • Steeplechase Racing - Steeplechase Racing 1997–98 Major Stakes Races Winners of major steeplechase races from Nov. ...
  • Steeplechase Racing - Steeplechase Racing 2000 Major Stakes Races Schedule and results of major stakes races in 2000. ...
  • Steeplechase Racing - Steeplechase Racing 1999 Major Stakes Races Schedule and results of major stakes races in 1999. ...
  • Steeplechase Racing - Steeplechase Racing 2001 Major Stakes Races Schedule and results of major stakes races in 2001. ...
  • Steeplechase Racing - Steeplechase Racing 2002 Major Stakes Races Schedule and results of major stakes races in 2002. ...

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring