|  Share | Cite

Triple Crown Winners

Year  Jockey Trainer Owner Sire/Dam
1919 Sir Barton Johnny Loftus H. Guy Bedwell J.K.L. Ross Star Shoot/Lady Sterling
1930 Gallant Fox Earl Sande J.E. Fitzsimmons Belair Stud Sir Gallahad III/Marguerite
1935 Omaha Willie Saunders J.E. Fitzsimmons Belair Stud Gallant Fox/Flambino
1937 War Admiral Charley Kurtsinger George Conway Samuel Riddle Man o' War/Brushup
1941 Whirlaway Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm Blenheim II/Dustwhirl
1943 Count Fleet Johnny Longden Don Cameron Mrs. J.D. Hertz Reigh Count/Quickly
1946 Assault Warren Mehrtens Max Hirsch King Ranch Bold Venture/Igual
1948 Citation Eddie Arcaro Ben A. Jones Calumet Farm Bull Lea/Hydroplane II
1973 Secretariat Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable Bold Ruler/Somethingroyal
1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet Billy Turner Karen Taylor Bold Reasoning/My Charmer
1978 AffirmedSteve Cauthen Laz Barrera Harbor View Farm Exclusive Native/Won't Tell You
2015American PharoahVictor Espinoza Bob BaffertAhmed ZayatPioneerof the Nile
Note: Gallant Fox (1930) is the only Triple Crown winner to sire another Triple Crown winner, Omaha (1935). Wm. Woodward Sr., owner of Belair Stud, was breeder-owner of both horses and both were trained by Sunny Jim Fitzsimmons.

The Triple CrownTriple Crown Near Misses

More on Triple Crown Winners from Infoplease:

  • Batting Triple Crown Winners - Batting Triple Crown Winners National League American League Players who led either league in ...
  • Pitching Triple Crown Winners - Pitching Triple Crown Winners Pitchers who led either league in Earned Run Average, Wins and ...
  • Triple Crown Near Misses - Triple Crown Near Misses Forty-six horses have won two legs of the Triple Crown. Of those, sixteen ...
  • This Day in History: June 9 - June 9 Yesterday Tomorrow 1870 Author Charles Dickens died. 1898 China agreed to lease Hong Kong to ...
  • Big Brown - Biography of Big Brown, Winner of the 2008 Kentucky Derby and Preakness