| Share

Golden Spikes Award

First presented in 1978 by USA Baseball, honoring the nation's best amateur player; sponsored by the Major League Baseball Players Association. Alex Fernandez, the 1990 winner, has been the only junior college player chosen.

1978Bob Horner, Ariz. St, 2B
1979Tim Wallach, CS-Fullerton, 1B
1980Terry Francona, Arizona, OF
1981Mike Fuentes, Fla. St., OF
1982Augie Schmidt, N. Orleans, SS
1983Dave Magadan, Alabama, 1B
1984Oddibe McDowell, Ariz. St., OF
1985Will Clark, Miss. St., 1B
1986Mike Loynd, Fla. St., P
1987Jim Abbott, Michigan, P
1988Robin Ventura, Okla. St., 3B
1989Ben McDonald, LSU, P
1990Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade, P
1991Mike Kelly, Ariz. St., OF
1992Phil Nevin, CS-Fullerton, 3B
1993Darren Dreifort, Wichita St., P
1994Jason Varitek, Ga. Tech, C
1995Mark Kotsay, CS-Fullerton, OF
1996Travis Lee, San Diego St., 1B
1997J.D. Drew, Florida St., OF
1998Pat Burrell, Miami-FL, 3B
1999Jason Jennings, Baylor, DH/P
2000Kip Bouknight, South Carolina, P
2001Mark Prior, USC, P
2002Khalil Greene, Clemson, SS
2003 Rickie Weeks, Southern, 2B
2004 Jered Weaver, Long Beach St., P

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Annual AwardsBaseball America Player of the Year

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring