| Share


1869–99 Kid Lavigne
1902 Frank Erne
1902–08 Joe Gans
1908–10 Battling Nelson
1910–12 Ad Wolgast
1912–14 Willie Ritchie
1914–17 Freddy Welsh
1917–25 Benny Leonard1
1925 Jimmy Goodrich
1925–26 Rocky Kansas
1926–30 Sammy Mandell
1930 Al Singer
1930–33 Tony Canzoneri
1933–35 Barney Ross2
1935–36 Tony Canzoneri
1936–38 Lou Ambers
1938–39 Henry Armstrong
1939–40 Lou Ambers
1940–41 Lew Jenkins
1941–42 Sammy Angott1
1943–47 Beau Jack (N.Y.),
Bob Montgomery (N.Y.),
Sammy Angott (NBA),
Juan Zurita (NBA),
Ike Williams (NBA)
1947–51 Ike Williams
1951–52 James Carter
1952 Lauro Salas
1952–54 James Carter
1954 Paddy DeMarco
1954–55 James Carter
1955–56 Wallace Smith
1956–62 Joe Brown
1962–65 Carlos Ortiz
1965 Ismael Laguna
1965–68 Carlos Ortiz
1968 Teo Cruz
1969 Teo Cruz,
Mando Ramos
1970 Mando Ramos,
Ismael Laguna,
Ken Buchanan
1971 Ken Buchanan (WBA),
Mando Ramos (WBC),
Pedro Carrasco (WBC)
1972 Ken Buchanan (WBA),
Roberto Duran (WBA),
Pedro Carrasco (WBC),
Mando Ramos (WBC),
Chango Carmona (WBC),
Rodolfo Gonzalez (WBC)
1973 Roberto Duran (WBA),
Rodolfo Gonzalez (WBC)
1974 Roberto Duran (WBA),
Rodolfo Gonzalez (WBC),
Guts Ishimatsu (WBC)
1975 Roberto Duran (WBA),
Guts Ishimatsu (WBC)
1976 Roberto Duran (WBA),
Guts Ishimatsu (WBC),
Esteban De Jesus (WBC)
1977 Roberto Duran (WBA),
Esteban De Jesus (WBC)
1978 Roberto Duran (WBA, WBC)
1979 Roberto Duran,2
Jim Watt (WBC),
Ernesto Espana (WBA)
1980 Ernesto Espana (WBA),
Hilmer Kenty (WBA),
Jim Watt (WBC)
1981 Hilmer Kenty (WBA),
Sean O'Grady (WBA),
James Watt (WBC),
Alexis Arguello (WBC),
Arturo Frias (WBA)
1982 Arturo Frias (WBA),
Ray Mancini (WBA),
Alexis Arguello (WBC)
1983 Edwin Rosario (WBC),
Ray Mancini (WBA)
1984 Edwin Rosario (WBC),
Livingstone Bramble (WBA)
1985 Jose Luis Ramirez (WBC),
Hector Camacho (WBC),
Livingstone Bramble (WBA)
1986 Hector Camacho (WBC),
Livingstone Bramble (WBA),
Jim Paul (IBF)
1987 Edwin Rosario (WBA),
Jose Luis Ramirez (WBC),
Greg Haugen (IBF)
1988 Jose Luis Ramirez (WBC),
Julio Cesar Chavez (WBA),
Greg Haugen (IBF),
Julio Cesar Chavez (WBC & WBA title unified)
1989 Pernell Whitaker (IBF, WBC),
Edwin Rosario (WBA)
1990 Pernell Whitaker (IBF, WBC),
Juan Nazario (WBA)
1991 Pernell Whitaker (IBF, WBA, WBC)
1992 Pernell Whitaker (IBF, WBA, WBC),3
Joey Gamache (WBA)
1993 Dingaan Thobela (WBA),
Angel Gonzalez (WBC),
Freddie Pendleton (IBF)
1994 Orzubek Nazarov (WBA),
Angel Gonzalez (WBC),
Rafael Ruelas (IBF)
1995 Orzubek Nazarov (WBA),
Angel Gonzalez (WBC),
Oscar De La Hoya (IBF)
1996 Gusshie Nazarov (WBA),
Jean Baptiste Mendy (WBC),
Phillip Holiday (IBF)
1997Orzubek Nazarov (WBA),
Jean Baptiste Mendy (WBC),
Philip Holiday (IBF)
1998Jean Baptiste Mendy (WBA),
Cesar Bazan (WBC),
Shane Mosley (IBF)
1999Stefano Zoff (WBA),
Stevie Johnston (WBC),
Paul Spadafora (IBF)
2000Takanori Hatakeyama (WBA), Jose Luis Castillo (WBC), Paul Spadafora (IBF)
2001Julien Lorcy (WBA),
Jose Luis Castillo (WBC),
Paul Spadafora (IBF)
2002Leonard Dorin (WBA),
Floyd Mayweather (WBC),
Paul Spadafora (IBF)
2003Leonard Dorin (WBA), Floyd Mayweather (WBC), Vacant (IBF)
2004Jose Luis Castillo (WBC), Juan Diaz (WBA, IBF)
2005Juan Diaz (WBA), Diego Corrales (WBC), Leavander Johnson (IBF)
1. Retired.
2. Abandoned title.
3. Moved up in weight class, so resigned titles.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

WelterweightOther World Boxing TitleholdersFeatherweight

More on Lightweight from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring