| Share


1892–94 Mysterious Billy Smith
1894–96 Tommy Ryan
1896 Kid McCoy1
1900 Mysterious Billy Smith
1900 Rube Ferns
1900–01 Matty Matthews
1901 Ruby Ferns
1901–04 Joe Walcott
1904 Dixie Kid1
1904–06 Joe Walcott
1906–07 Honey Mellody
1907 Mike (Twin) Sullivan1
1915–19 Ted Lewis
1919–22 Jack Britton
1922–26 Mickey Walker
1926–27 Pete Latzo
1927–29 Joe Dundee
1929–30 Jackie Fields
1930 Young Jack Thompson
1930–31 Tommy Freeman
1931 Young Jack Thompson
1931–32 Lou Brouillard
1932–33 Jackie Fields
1933 Young Corbett 3rd
1933–34 Jimmy McLarnin,
Barney Ross
1934–35 Jimmy McLarnin
1935–38 Barney Ross
1938–40 Henry Armstrong
1940–41 Fritzie Zivic
1941–46 Freddie Cochrane
1946 Marty Servo2
1946–51 Ray Robinson1
1951 Johnny Bratton (NBA)
1951–54 Kid Gavilan
1954–55 Johnny Saxton
1955 Tony DeMarco
1955–56 Carmen Basilio
1956 Johnny Saxton
1956–57 Carmen Basilio1
1958 Virgil Akins
1959–60 Don Jordan
1960–61 Benny (Kid) Paret
1961 Emile Griffith
1961–62 Benny (Kid) Paret
1962–63 Emile Griffith,
Luis Rodriguez
1963–66 Emile Griffith1
1966–69 Curtis Cokes
1969 Curtis Cokes,
José Napoles
1970 José Napoles,
Billy Backus
1971 Billy Backus,
José Napoles
1972–74 José Napoles
1975 José Napoles (WBA, WBC),3
Angel Espada (WBA),
John Stracey (WBC)
1976 Angel Espada (WBA),
José Cuevas (WBA),
John Stracey (WBC),
Carlos Palomino
1977–78 José Cuevas (WBA),
Carlos Palomino (WBC)
1979 José Cuevas (WBA),
Carlos Palomino (WBC),
Wilfredo Benitez (WBC)
1980 José Cuevas (WBA),
Ray Leonard (WBC),
Roberto Duran (WBC),
Thomas Hearns (WBA)
1981 Ray Leonard (WBC),
Thomas Hearns (WBA),
Ray Leonard (WBC, WBA)
1982 Ray Leonard
1983–85 Donald Curry (WBA),
Milton McCrory (WBC)
1985–86 Donald Curry (undisputed)
1987 Mark Breland (WBA),
Marlon Starling (WBA),
Lloyd Honeyghan (IBF)
1988 Marlon Starling (WBA),
Tomas Molinares (WBA),
Lloyd Honeyghan (WBC),
Simon Brown (IBF)
1989 Mark Breland (WBA),
Marlon Starling (WBC),
Simon Brown (IBF)
1990 Mark Breland (WBA),
Aaron Davis (WBA),
Simon Brown (IBF),
Marlon Starling (WBC),
Maurice Blocker (WBC)
1991 Meldrick Taylor (WBA),
Simon Brown (IBF, WBC)
1992 Meldrick Taylor (WBA),
James “Buddy” McGirt (WBC), Maurice Blocker (IBF)
1993 Cristianto Espana (WBA),
Pernell Whitaker (WBC),
Felix Trinidad (IBF)
1994 Ike Quartey (WBA),
Pernell Whitaker (WBC),
Felix Trinidad (IBF)
1995 Ike Quartey (WBA),
Pernell Whitaker (WBC),
Felix Trinidad (IBF)
1996–97 Ike Quartey (WBA),
Pernell Whitaker (WBC),
Felix Trinidad (IBF)
1998Ike Quartey (WBA),
Oscar De La Hoya (WBC),
Felix Trinidad (IBF)
1999James Page (WBA),
Oscar De La Hoya (WBC),
Felix Trinidad (IBF, WBC)
2000James Page (WBA), Shane Mosley (WBC), Vacant (IBF)
2001Andrew Lewis (WBA),
Shane Mosley (WBC),
Vernon Forrest (IBF)
2002Ricardo Mayorga (WBA),
Vernon Forrest (WBC),
Michele Piccirillo (IBF)
2003Ricardo Mayorga (WBA, WBC), Cory Spinks (IBF)
2004Cory Spinks (WBC, WBA, IBF)
2005Luis Collazo (WBA), Zab Judah (WBC, IBF)
1. Retired.
2. Abandoned title.
3. WBA withdrew recognition.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

MiddleweightOther World Boxing TitleholdersLightweight

More on Welterweight from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring