| Share

Final AP Top 20

Writers' poll taken before major tournaments.

  Before TournsHead CoachFinal Record
1San Francisco23–1Phil Woolpert28–1
2Kentucky22–2Adolph Rupp23–3
3La Salle22–4Ken Loeffler26–5
4N.C. State28–4Everett Casesame
5Iowa17–5Bucky O'Connor19–7
6Duquesne19–4Dudey Moore22–4
7Utah23–3Jack Gardner24–4
8Marquette22–2Jack Nagle24–3
9Dayton23–3Tom Blackburn25–4
10Oregon St.21–7Slats Gill22–8
11Minnesota15–7Ozzie Cowlessame
12Alabama19–5Johnny Deesame
13UCLA21–5John Woodensame
14George Washington24–6Bill Reinhartsame
15Colorado16–5Bebe Lee19–6
16Tulsa20–6Clarence Iba21–7
17Vanderbilt16–6Bob Polksame
18Illinois17–5Harry Combessame
19West Virginia19–10Fred Schaus19–11
20St. Louis19–7Eddie Hickey20–8
Note: San Francisco won the NCAAs and Duquesne won the NIT.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

1955 College Basketball RecapMajor Conference Champions

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring