| Share

Major Conference Champions

ConferenceRegular SeasonTournament
ACCDuke (9–1)
Big 8Kansas/Colorado (10–2)
Big 10Indiana (12–2)
IvyCornell*/Princeton (11–3)
Missouri ValleyOklahoma A&M (9–1)
PCC NorthOregon St. (11–5)
PCC SouthUSC (8–4)*
SECKentucky*/LSU (14–0)
SouthernGeorge Washington (10–0)George Washington
SWCRice*/Texas (9–3)
*Won playoff for league championship.
Note: Kentucky and LSU did not play during the regular season. Kentucky won a playoff to determine NCAA tournament entry, then turned down the bid to protest NCAA's cancelling Wildcats' entire 1953 schedule due to academic and recruiting violations.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Final AP Top 201954 College Basketball RecapNCAA Tournament (24 teams)

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease: