| Share

Final AP Top 20

Writers' poll taken before major tournaments.

  Before TournsHead CoachFinal Record
1Kentucky28–2Adolph Rupp29–3
2Illinois19–3Harry Combes22–4
3Kansas St.19–5Jack Gardnersame
4Duquesne21–1Dudey Moore23–4
5St. Louis22–6Eddie Hickey23–8
6Washington25–6Tippy Dyesame
7Iowa19–3Bucky O'Connorsame
8Kansas24–3Phog Allen28–3
9West Virginia23–4Red Brownsame
10St. John's22–3Frank McGuire25–5
11Dayton24–3Tom Blackburn28–5
12Duke24–6Harold Bradleysame
13Holy Cross23–3Buster Sheary24–4
14Seton Hall25–2Honey Russell25–3
15St. Bonaventure19–5Ed Melvin21–6
16Wyoming27–6Everett Shelton28–7
17Louisville20–5Peck Hickman20–6
18Seattle29–7Al Brightman29–8
19UCLA19–10John Wooden19–12
20SW Texas St.30–1Milton Jowerssame
Note: Kansas won the NCAAs and unranked La Salle (21–7, Ken Loeffler, 25–7) won the NIT. Dayton, Duquesne, St. John's and St. Louis all played in both tourneys.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

1952 College Basketball RecapMajor Conference Champions

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring