| Share

Major Conference Champions

ConferenceRegular SeasonTournament
Big 7Kansas St. (9–3)
Big 10Michigan (10–2)
IvyColumbia (11–1)
Missouri ValleyOklahoma A&M (10–0)
PCC NorthWashington (11–6)*
PCC SouthCalifornia (11–1)
Skyline 6BYU (8–2)
SECKentucky (9–0)Kentucky
SouthernN.C. State (12–0)N.C. State
SWCBaylor (11–0)
*Won playoff for league championship.
Note: Colorado left the Big 7 (Mountain States A.C.) for the Big 6 in 1947, making the Big 6 the new Big 7 and the old Big 7 the new Skyline 6.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

1948 College Basketball RecapNCAA & NIT Tournament Teams

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease: